Mauritius and Equatorial Guinea granted associated observer status in CPLP

17 July 2006

Bissau, Guinea Bissau, 17 July – Mauritius and Equatorial Guinea were Sunday granted observer status in the Community of Portuguese-speaking Countries (CPLP), by the foreign ministers of the organisation, thwarting the possibility that the two could be “full members” of the Portuguese-speaking community.

The decision was one of the conclusions of the 6th Cabinet Meeting of the Community of Portuguese-speaking Community, which took place Sunday in Bissau ahead of the 6th Summit of the Heads of State and Government, due to take place Monday in the Guinea Bissau capital.

In a press conference, the executive secretary of the CPLP, Luís Fonseca, explained that the two countries “do not fulfil the required conditions,” to become members of the Portuguese-speaking community.

Fonseca reminded his audience that the statutes and spirit of the CPLP placed an emphasis on the Portuguese language as a “common factor” uniting the organisation’s member-countries, and that any country to be part of it must be Portuguese-speaking.

The granting of associated observer status to Mauritius and Equatorial Guinea was important, he said, as it increased visibility, as well as responsibility of the CPLP.

Isaac Monteiro said he had decided to accept the naming as Goodwill Ambassador of seven people from teh Portuguese-speaking world, including former presidents Jorge Sampaio (Portugal), Joaquim Chissano (Mozambique) and José Sarney (Brazil).

The remaining people are Martinho da Vila (Brazilian musician), António Dias França Van-Dunen (former Angolan prime minister), Gustavo da Conceição (president of the Angolan Olympic Committee) and Albertino Bragança (academic and politician from Sao Tome and Principe).

The documents approved Sunday will be ratified Monday at the Summit of Heads of State and Government, at which will be present, apart from host João Bernardo “Nino” Vieira, the presidents of Angola, Cape Verde, Mozambique and Portugal.

Sao tome and Principe will be represented by Prime Minister Tomé Vera Cruz, East Timor by the Territorial Administration Minister, Ana Pessoa and Brazil by education Minister, Fernando Haddad. (macauhub)