Angola and four other African countries sign constitution of Okavango/Zambezi natural park

19 August 2011

Luanda, Angola, 19 Aug – Five countries from Southern Africa, including Angola, Thursday in Luanda signed an agreement to create a vast natural park in the basins of the Okavango and Zambezi rivers covering an area of 278,000 square kilometres.

The tourist and conservation park covers parts of Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe and links 14 national parks and natural reserves, including Victoria Falls and the Okavango delta.

The agreement was signed at the closing ceremony of the 31st Summit of Heads of State and Government from the Southern African Development Community (SADC), and it was noted on the occasion that this was the world’s largest protected tourism area.

The project aims to preserve biodiversity and share the benefits of natural resources, sustainable development of local communities and ecological tourism.

The Okavango/Zambezi natural park includes animals such as cheetahs, African wild dogs, rhinoceros and around 250,000 elephants. (macauhub)