Mozambique, Tanzania and Comoros Islands sign agreement to set marine borders

6 December 2011

Maputo, Mozambique, 6 Dec – The governments of Mozambique, Tanzania and the Comoros Islands Monday in Maputo signed an agreement to outline the sea borders between the three states, Mozambican daily newspaper, Notícias reported.

The daily said that following the agreement Mozambique now only needed to set its sea borders with Madagascar and South Africa.

The President of Mozambique, Armando Guebuza said that it had been a long, delicate and complicated process that had made it possible to meet one of them ain targets of the African Union to set sea and land borders with a view to promoting peace and peaceful co-existence between states and people.

The agreements were signed by Oldemiro Balói, Mozambique’s foreign affairs minister, by Anna Timbaijuka, Tanzania’s land, housing and development of urban settlements minister, and Rastami Mouhidine, the Comoros minister for transport and tourism, and the process had the technical and financial support of Germany. (macauhub)