Mozambican Mining Resources Ministry presents new geological map of Mozambique

8 March 2012

Mozambique’s Mining Resources Ministry (Mirem) is due Thursday in Maputo to present the Geological Map of Mozambique, from 2008, on a 1:1 000 000 scale, outlining the Geology of Mozambique and its potential including new information such as updated international coding of geological units and their names.

The document, which can be looked up at the Documentation Centre of the National Geology Directorate, is the result of work carried out by Mirem with a view to improving knowledge of Mozambique’s geological and mining facilities making use of a project on the mining and geological sector in the country carried out between 2002 and 2007.

The map includes 102 pages of geological mapping of the whole of Mozambique on a scale of 1:250 000, geological mapping on a 1:50 000 scale for the provinces of Niassa, Tete and Manica and an inventory and geo-chemical survey of industrial mining resources.

In Mozambique there are seven (7) seismographic stations in operation in the provinces of Maputo, Gaza, Inhambane, Manica, Tete, Zambézia and Nampula.

The previous Geological Map of Mozambique on a scale of 1:1 000 000 was drawn up in 1987. (macauhub)