Mozambican and Sao Tome airlines remain on EU blacklist

5 December 2012

The airlines of Mozambique and Sao Tome and Principe are still banned from operating in the European Union and Angola’s airline, Taag will continue with previously imposed restriction, according to an updated air safety list issued Tuesday in Brussels.

The list, which was approved by the Air Safety Commission, includes 13 Angolan airlines (Taag is the only Angolan airline authorised to operate in European air space with restrictions), all certified Mozambican companies (13) and all airlines from Sao Tome and Principe (10).

Along with these three countries there are a further 17 whose airlines are banned from operating in the European Union, and the list currently includes 287 airlines, most of which from African and Asian countries.

The previous black list, published in April, added all Eritrean certified airlines (two), after the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) found safety problems, and one country, Mauritania, was removed from the list along with airline Jordan Aviation.

“The Commission will make every effort to help all countries listed to establish the necessary technical and administrative capacity to overcome their safety problems as quickly and effectively as possible,” said the European Transport Commissioner, Siim Kallas. (macauhub)