Debt owed to Algeria by three Portuguese-speaking African countries cancelled

5 June 2013

The Algerian government has cancelled the debt owed to it by 14 African countries, including Guinea Bissau, Mozambique and Sao Tome and Principe, to an overall total of US$902 million, the spokesman for the Algerian Foreign affairs Ministry, Amar Belani said recently.

The measure, which was announced as part of the 50th anniversary of the African Union (AU) previously known as the Pan-African organisation and later the Organisation of African Unity, cancels the debt of Benin, Burkina Faso, Congo, Ethiopia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mauritania, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, the Seychelles and Tanzania.

Amar Belani said that the Algerian government’s decision was intended to demonstrate its efforts for the economic and social promotion of the African continent. (macauhub)