São Tomé and Príncipe approves agreement for visa exemption with China

The National Assembly of São Tomé and Príncipe has unanimously approved the agreement on mutual exemption of visas in diplomatic and service passports, established between the governments of the archipelago and the People’s Republic of China the president of the Parliament, José Diogo said on Thursday.

Diogo said the document was approved following the agreement established with the government of China on “the mutual exemption of visas for holders of diplomatic passports and special services,” in order to re-launch bilateral cooperation.

The approval of the document comes six months after the government of São Tomé and Príncipe announced the allocation of entry visas to all citizens of China who wish to visit the archipelago and exemption from entry and residence visas for all Chinese holders of diplomatic and service passports.

The government had also guaranteed to citizens of the People’s Republic of China, holders of ordinary or common passports, the allocation of entry visa on arrival in the country, for a period of 15 days.

The visa agreement is part of the general China-Sao Tome sectoral programme of cooperation following the re-establishment of diplomatic relations between the People’s Republic of China and São Tomé and Príncipe. (macauhub)