Angola issues entry visas on arrival for citizens of 61 countries

28 March 2018

Angola’s Foreigner and Migration Service (SME) has already set up five counters at Luanda International Airport, which, as of the end of this month, will issue tourist visas to citizens of 61 countries upon entry into Angolan territory, the director general of the SME announced on Tuesday in Luanda.

Gil Famoso’s statements were made on the sidelines of a verification visit by Interior Minister Ângelo Veiga Tavares and Transport Minister, Augusto Tomás, to Luanda’s international airport.

The citizens of 61 countries will, from that date, find it easier to travel to Angola, provided that they remain in the territory for up to 30 days per entry and 90 days per year.

A presidential order from February provides for four African countries (Botswana, Mauritius, Seychelles and Zimbabwe) and one Asian country (Singapore) to be exempt from tourist visas and 61 countries to benefit from a procedure to simplify the process of granting a tourist visa.

Algeria, Cabo Verde (Cape Verde), Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco, Lesotho, Sao Tome and Principe, Swaziland and Zambia are countries that have benefited from simplification processes and in Europe, in addition to the 28 countries that make up the European Union, Northern Ireland, Iceland, Monaco, Norway, United Kingdom, Russia, Switzerland and Vatican City are included in the presidential order.

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cuba, United States, Uruguay and Venezuela are the American countries covered by the visa simplification process and in Asia the order specifies China, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, India, Indonesia, Israel and Japan, with Australia, New Zealand and Timor-Leste (East Timor) covered in Oceania. (macauhub)