Government of Angola sets out new rules for the import of 54 products

27 November 2018

Angola’s Ministry for the Economy and Planning on Monday on Monday in Luanda presented a list of 54 products covered by measures to accelerate import substitution, including glass containers, wheat flour, pineapple, sugar, mineral water, beans, eggs, oil, onions and salt.

The Secretary of State for the Economy, Sérgio Santos, as he presented the Portal for the Dissemination of National Production, said that these products were covered by new import rules, with a view to giving priority to domestic production.

He added that anyone wishing to import one of the 54 products on the list may do so as long as they observe two conditions, the first being that there is insufficient domestic production and the second that the importer shows they have a contract signed with domestic producers for the products they plan to import.

Santos explained that the measures are aimed at helping micro and small entrepreneurs, and small producers, to guarantee the sale of their products and also the future sale of the products they produce, according to the Angop news agency.

The Secretary of State said that after the national production has been distributed, the deficit will be imported, “the government intends, through this list, to ensure that whoever wants to focus on national production can do so through these 54 products, and the flow of production will always be guaranteed.”

The website presented in Luanda, found at, can be used by all producers, regardless of the size of their production, location and at no cost. (macauhub)