Angola joins SADC free trade zone from August 2019

2 January 2019

Angolan Trade Minister Joffre Van-Dúnen Júnior said in Luanda that his ministry is working to create conditions for Angola’s accession to the SADC Free Trade Area in 2019.

The minister said that two customs duties were planned, one for South Africa and one for the other members of the economic bloc.

Van-Dúnen Júnior said that the creation of a tax for South Africa is based on the fact that the South Africans are at a more advanced stage of development, which will require more care in the application of the rates.

Angola has already presented the roadmap for joining the free trade zone and in August 2019 a meeting of trade ministers will ratify Angola’s accession, and from then on discussions will begin on dismantling the SADC countries’ rates.

South Africa is the most industrialised country among the 15 countries that make up the Southern African Development Community (SADC). It is also part of the BRICS, an association that includes Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. (macauhub)