China State Council appoints senior officials of the 5th Government of Macau

2 December 2019

The State Council of the People’s Republic of China has appointed the senior government officials and the attorney general of the Macau Special Administrative Region, under the terms of the Basic Law, under the nomination of the future Chief Executive of the Macau Special Administrative Region, Ho Iat Seng, announced the Information Office.

The announcement said the positions of the five secretaries will be held by Cheong Weng Chon (Administration and Justice), Lei Wai Nong (Economy and Finance), Wong Sio Chak (Security), Ao Ieong U (Social Affairs and Culture) and Raimundo Arrais do Rosario (Transport and Public Works).

Cheng Wen Chon replaces Sonia Chan Hoi Fan in Administration and Justice, Lei Wai Nong replaces Leong Vai Tac as Secretary for Economy and Finance and Ao Ieong U takes over the Social Affairs and Culture role so far held by Alexis Tam Chon Weng.

Chan Tsz King has been appointed to the post of Commissioner Against Corruption, Ho Veng On as Audit Commissioner, Leong Man Cheong as Commander General of Unitary Police Services, Vong Man Chong as Director-General of Customs Services and Ip Son Sang as Public Prosecutor.

From the Fourth Government of Macau, led by Chui Sai On, two secretaries – Wong Sio Chak (Security) and Raimundo Arrais do Rosário (Transport and Public Works) will remain in government.

Of the remaining five positions, Ho Veng On (Audit Commissioner) and Ip Son Sang (Prosecutor) remain in office.

The next Macau government will be the fifth since the establishment of the Macau Special Administrative Region on 20 December 1999, with Ho Iat Seng being the third Chief Executive, after Ho Hau Wah and Chui Sai On, who each had two five-year terms of office. (Macauhub)