European Union blacklist includes airlines from Angola and São Tomé and Principe

All airlines from Angola, with the exception of the flagship carrier and Heli Malongo, are included on the “blacklist” of 115 airlines banned from flying into the European Union (EU), according to the revised list published on Monday in Brussels.

The air carries included are Aerojet, Guicango, Air Jet, Besteflya Aircraft Management, Heliang, SJL and Sonair, the latter owned by oil company Sociedade Nacional de Combustíveis de Angola (Sonangol).

São Tomé and Príncipe has two companies in the “blacklist,” namely Africa’s Connection and STP Airways.

“The decision illustrates the continuous efforts to provide the highest level of security, not only for European travellers, but also for travellers from all over the world, because safety in aviation knows no borders or nationalities,” said Adina Väƒlean, European Commissioner for Transport.

Among the 115 companies banned from flying in EU air space are companies from countries such as Moldova, the Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Iraq, Afghanistan, Sierra Leone and Sudan, among others.

Of the total, six are on the list individually, for reasons related to security problems of the carriers themselves, and the remaining 109 are mentioned in the document based on insufficient control by their national authorities. (macauhub)