Angola bars citizens from China and other countries affected by COVID-19 from entering the country

3 March 2020

Citizens of China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Nigeria, Egypt and Algeria are barred from entering into Angola as of 3 March, while the COVID_19 epidemic remains active, according to a decree of the Ministry of Health published on Monday.

The limitation is only valid for citizens who travel directly from the countries mentioned, but shall not apply to those who arrive in Angola through third countries.

The statement clarifies that transport companies who violate the present order will be held responsible for the immediate repatriation of those travellers.

The National Directorate of Public Health, on a daily basis, will update the list of barred countries, based on the criteria set out in the order, taking into account the increase of cases of novelty coronavirus worldwide and the need to prevent the spread of the epidemic in Angola.

The criteria in Article No.1 are set out under the terms of the International Health Regulation, ratified by the Angolan State through Resolution no. 32/08, of 1 September, in conjunction with Article 02 of Presidential Decree no. 21/18, of 30 January, which approves the Organic Statute of the Ministry of Health. (macauhub)