São Tome and Principe follows Angola’s lead and bars citizens from China and other countries affected by COVID-19 from entering the country

The Council of Ministers of São Tomé and Príncipe has decided to prohibit the entry into the country of citizens from China, South Korea, Italy, Iran, Nigeria, Algeria and Senegal as a way of preventing the spread of the new coronavirus (Covid-19), according to an official announcement made on Wednesday in São Tomé.

The announcement was made by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Elsa Pinto and the Minister of Health, Edgar Neves, at the end of a meeting with the diplomatic corps and international organisations, and the representative of the World Health Organization (ONH), on the “measures taken by the government to prevent the coronavirus.”

The Health Minister said that the list of countries whose citizens are prevented from entering São Tomé and Príncipe, “can be changed at any time” based on São Tomé and Príncipe’s capacity to control the spread of Covid-19.”

The outbreak of Covid-19, which can cause respiratory infections such as pneumonia, has killed almost 3,200 people and infected more than 93,000 in approximately 70 countries and territories, including some countries in Africa.

Citizens of China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Nigeria, Egypt and Algeria are have been barred from entering Angola since 3 March, while the Covid-19 epidemic remains active, according to a decree from the Angolan Ministry of Health issued on Monday. (macauhub)