Mozambican government imposes quarantine on citizens of China and five other countries

The government of Mozambique will quarantine the citizens of China as well those from Italy, South Korea, Japan, Germany and France, who wish to enter the country, announced on Thursday in Maputo, the Ministry of Health.

The statement, which adds that the people concerned will have to stay at home and not in healthcare facilities, unless they have symptoms and require treatment, and the measure cover those countries that have more than 1,000 cases of COVID-19 and where there are more than 100 daily infections.

The Mozambican health and migration authorities are also strengthening surveillance measures and the screening of nationals and foreigners entering the country through land borders and by air, mainly from neighbouring South Africa, where there are several confirmed cases.

In Angola, a ban on entry into the country by citizens of China, Italy, South Korea and Iran remains in place, after three African countries where just one case was reported were removed from the list.

In São Tomé and Principe, the government decided to prohibit official travel by State officials and staff to countries with a high incidence of the 2019-nCoV virus [the novelty coronavirus that causes COVID-19 disease], according to an announcement by spokesman Adelino Lucas.

The citizens of China, South Korea, Italy, Iran, Nigeria, Algeria and Senegal remains barred from entering São Tomé and Príncipe. (macauhub)