Macau to quarantine visitors from the Schengen countries from 17 March

16 March 2020

The citizens of the 26 Schengen Area countries wishing to enter Macau will be subject to a quarantine period of 14 days from 17 March onwards, announced the health authorities of the special administrative region.

The measure announced on 15 March also includes citizens from Brazil, Great Britain, the United States of America, Canada, Egypt and Australia.

Previously the government said that people from Germany, Italy, France, Spain, South Africa, Iran and Japan would also be obliged to undergo a quarantine period if they wish to enter in Macau.

This measures comes into force following an announcement, on Sunday, of the detection of a new case of Covid-19 in Macau.

The new case is a 26 year-old South Korean woman and Air Macau cabin crew who travelled with her boyfriend to Porto, Portugal, and returned on Saturday to Macau via the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau bridge.

The new case is the 11th in Macau since 22 January. Macau had not registered any new cases of Covid-19 since 5 February.

Macau previously recorded 10 cases of Covid-19, but all of them were discharged from hospital. (macauhub)