Macao CE visits Hengqin for plaque-unveiling ceremony for Intensive Cooperation Zone

20 September 2021

The Chief Executive, Mr Ho Iat Seng, visits Hengqin to attend today’s ceremony to unveil a plaque marking the advent of the administrative body for the Guangdong-Macao Intensive Cooperation Zone in Hengqin.

The Chief Executive is leading a 100-strong delegation for the ceremony in Hengqin. Members of the delegation include: President of the Legislative Assembly Mr Kou Hoi In; President of the Court of Final Appeal Mr Sam Hou Fai; Secretary for Administration and Justice Mr Cheong Weng Chon; Secretary for Economy and Finance Mr Lei Wai Nong; Secretary for Security Mr Wong Sio Chak; Secretary for Social Affairs and Culture Ms Ao Ieong U; Commissioner Against Corruption Mr Chan Tsz King; Commissioner of Audit Mr Ho Veng On; Commissioner General of the Unitary Police Service Mr Leong Man Cheong; Director-General of the Macao Customs Service Mr Vong Man Chong; and Public Prosecutor-General Mr Ip Son Sang.

Other members of the delegation include: Executive Council members; Macao’s delegates to the National People’s Congress and to the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference; and representatives from the commercial and finance sector, community associations, youth associations, education institutions, professional associations, media groups and from local Macanese community.

While Mr Ho is away, the Secretary for Transport and Public Works, Mr Raimundo do Rosário, takes the role of Acting Chief Executive.

The Master Plan of the Development of the Guangdong-Macao Intensive Cooperation Zone in Hengqin was published by the Central Government on 5 September.

According to the Master Plan, Guangdong and Macao will jointly form an administrative committee, as a development and management body to coordinate and make decisions on major issues for the Cooperation Zone. The administrative committee is under the leadership of the Leading Group for the Development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-​Macao Greater Bay Area and will be run under a dual-director system, meaning it will be jointly led by the Governor of Guangdong Province and the Chief Executive of the Macao Special Administrative Region (MSAR). The administrative committee will have an executive vice chairperson from Macao, appointed by the MSAR Government; other vice chairpersons will be appointed after discussions between Guangdong and Macao. The administrative committee will also include representatives from departments of the Guangdong Government, the MSAR Government and of the Zhuhai Government.

In addition, there will be an executive committee set up under the administrative committee of the Cooperation Zone. The person-in-charge of the executive committee will be appointed by the MSAR Government. Guangdong Province and Zhuhai Municipality will appoint representatives to join the committee.

Government Information Bureau: