非洲国家应抓住中国经济转变机遇 开拓更多出口商品

2016年03月29日

经济分析师Mark Bohlund认为,迄今为止主要出口石油等原材料的非洲国家,应抓住中国经济转变的机遇,调整出口商品结构,提供更多价值链中不同档次商品的组合。

Bohlund在“南部非洲贸易法律中心”的一份研究报告中指出,作为非洲主要贸易伙伴,中国近年经济发展速度放缓,当局有意将经济增长的“火车头”由投资导向转为内需导向,这将反映在对外(特别是对南部非洲)需求结构的转变上。

该题为《中非贸易关系报告》的报告(于3月发布)指出,随着中国内需由投资品(包括服务)向国内消费转化,粮食和相关服务出口将受惠,这有助抵消对非洲商品需求和出口价格双双下降对贸易平衡的冲击。

报告称:“因此,非洲国家必须拓展出口商品的种类,并注意出口较高增值额的商品。”

以石油为主要出口商品和国家经济基础的安哥拉,是自2014年中全球油价暴跌导致石油收入急挫后,出口多元最力而效果最著的国家之一。

“南部非洲贸易法律中心”的报告指出,“在大宗石油进口(特别是从安哥拉进口)驱动下”,2014年中非贸易额达2,215亿美元,较2001年的数字增加超过20倍。

2014年的“联合国商品贸易统计数据库”(Comtrade)将安哥拉列为非洲第二大中国进口商品来源国,占非洲出口中国总货值的27%(仅次于南非的39%)、第五大中国出口商品目的国,占非洲进口中国货总值的6%。

经济师Mark Bohlund在2015年12月4至5日约翰内斯堡“中非合作论坛”后为《彭博行业报告》(Bloomberg Intelligence)撰文称,中国经济放缓将是非洲国家面临的“另一道坎”。

Bohlund认为,油价急挫,主因是美国产油量增加而非中国进口量减少;后者的经济在更高的基数上持续增长。

Bohlund说,投资水平的下降,很大程度反映了一些矿业资产的贬值,以及“对非洲而言,由债务支持的投资较外商直接投资(FDI)重要,且在中国持续拓展非洲项目的背景下,举债投资将持续增长”。

考虑到中国央行2015年7月向中国进出口银行划转450亿美元、向中国开发银行划转480亿美元,以支持“一带一路”倡议,Bohlund相信 “中国在撒哈拉以南非洲国家基建的投资,只会增加,不会减少。

中国当局一直主张,即使在目前经济放缓的环境下,投资非洲的重要性仍将持续提升。

中国驻埃塞俄比亚大使腊翊凡(3月15日)向路透社称,在国内经济增长放缓的背景下,“过去30年驱动国家基建发展的中国企业”把投资目光转向海外市场,而非洲国家或可成为此转向的“理想对象国”。

腊翊凡说,“尽管有这样那样的疑虑,我可以跟大家说:中国相关政府部门、开发银行和保险公司正与他们的非洲对口伙伴紧密联系,以实现这伟大计划”。(macauhub/AO/CN)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

African countries should diversify exports to adapt to changes in China’s economy

29 March 2016

The ongoing changes in China’s economy may be an opportunity for African countries that now mainly export raw materials and oil, to adapt and diversify exports and move up the value chain, according to analysts.

China, Africa’s main trading partner, has registered an economic slowdown and the authorities want the “engine” of growth in the coming years to be domestic consumption rather than investment, which will affect external demand, particularly in sub-Saharan Africa, according to an analysis by the “Trade Law Centre for Southern Africa”.

“As Chinese domestic demand changes from investment goods for domestic consumption and, implicitly, to services, exporters of food and services can gain from the change,” said the March analysis of the China Africa Trading Relationship.

This will offset the impact of reduced demand for African imports and the fall in commodity prices, which will have a negative impact on global prices of such goods, affecting the terms of trade.

“It is therefore imperative for African countries to diversify exports and move up the value chain,” says the document.

Angola, for which oil is the main export and the basis of its economy, is among the countries where efforts to diversify exports are most visible, following the fall in revenue related to the oil price drop since mid 2014.

The increase of Chinese trade with Africa – to US$221.5 billion in 2014, more than 20 times that recorded in 2001 – was driven “by the large bill on oil imports, mainly from Angola,” the Trade and Law Center said.

Figures from UN Comtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database) for 2014 put Angola as the second largest source of Chinese imports in Africa, with 27 percent of the total, behind South Africa (39 percent), and 5th largest destination for exports with 6 percent.

After the last Forum on China-Africa Cooperation (Johannesburg, 4-5 December 2015), economist Mark Bohlund in an article for Bloomberg Intelligence, noted that the slowdown in China would be another “jolt” for African countries.

The fall in oil prices, he argues, is more of a result of increased production in the United States than a reduction of imports by China – whose economy continues to grow, from a higher base.

The drop in investment levels, he said, mainly reflects the devaluation of some mining assets and “investment financed by debt is much more important for Africa than FDI and should continue to grow as China expands the scope of projects financed in Africa.”

“Chinese investment in infrastructure in sub-Saharan Africa is more likely to increase than decrease,” taking into account the Chinese central bank’s transfers to the Export Import Bank of China (US$45 billion) and the China Development Bank (US$48 billion) in July 2015 to finance the New Silk Road strategy, said Bohlund.

The Chinese authorities have been arguing that even in the current context of slowdown, Africa investment and will continue and even become more important.

La Yifan, the Chinese Ambassador to Ethiopia told the Reuters news agency on 15 March that African countries may even be “the ideal place” for business investment of companies that “have driven the expansion of Chinese infrastructure in the last 30 years,” at a time when the domestic economy is slowing and they are increasingly looking to foreign markets.

“Despite all the doubts, I can share that in China the relevant government departments, development banks, and insurance companies are addressing their African partners to make this great plan a reality,” said La. (macauhub/AO/CN)

MACAUHUB FRENCH