安哥拉冀成为国际矿业火车头

2013年02月14日

安哥拉希望透过吸引投世界各地钢铁、黄金、铜矿业者前往该国投资,使该国成为国际矿业火车头,从而减少受国际钻石价格波动的牵制。

安国家地质矿务部长Francisco Queiroz上周在南非Indaba矿业峰会(非洲最大矿业会议)上,向国际投资者力推该国可提供的矿业投资机会。这是上述战略转移的其中一项举措。

《安哥拉日报》引述该部长说,将通过常规作业标准化、重新启动装饰石的开采,以及开发更多铁、黄金、磷和铜矿等规划,实现安哥拉矿业多元化。

该部长向投资者保证,安哥拉的投资法吸引、政局稳定,同时,政府正对全国矿产资源进行普查。

部长说:“我们将在三个月之内,制作出 [有关矿产资源的] 全图,这有助建立更稳固的基础,向海外招商、吸引投资。”

他说:“为确保我们后代的生存,我们将制作显示全国资源分布的专业照片,建立数据库,以确定勘探、投资的规划。我们也会研究和投资国进行合作。”

对安哥拉资源的品位和储量之普查工作,正由俄罗斯的Alrosa负责执行。

Queiroz部长说,开普敦有意全面重振钻石业,包括引导外国投资,流向勘探、开采、切割、打磨,以至珠宝制作整个流程。

参加南非Indaba矿业峰会的有矿业投资者、运营商、银行界以及相关服务公司。与会的安哥拉企业,包括国家钻石公司(Endiama)、国家钻石贸易公司(Sodiam)、国家铁矿石和锰矿公司(Ferrangol),以及其他矿业公司。

据《经济学人》智库(EIU)报道,安矿务部长说,由于或将有 “更多海外运营商和投资者络绎于途”, “安哥拉成为 ‘非洲矿业火车头’ 的追求,并非不现实。” 外商所以有兴趣,主要建基于两点:新的矿业法已经生效,以及新一轮勘采专营权即将招标。

“然而,” EIU在关于安哥拉的最新报告中称:“海外投资者选择等待地质普查有了结果,方踏出第一步。安国改善能源供应和基础设施的计划,却亟待外商踏出这一步。”

EIU称,铁路、公路和港口,正在复建之中;铁矿石、黄金、铜等的勘探已经开始,兴建铸铝厂的中期计划,也在规划中。

安哥拉新的矿业法旨在提高矿资源领域的透明度、改善给予外来投资的保障;此外,亦涵盖环境保护和当地就业。

外商欢迎较全面、完善的新法律。他们的关注点包括:联合勘采的合同制定、批出勘采许可的透明度、澄清相关税制、国外投资者有否持股上限等。

除此以外,据EIU说,新法规定在含矿(包括钻石、黄金、稀有金属如铀)潜力较大矿区的专营权批给,须公开招标,取代以往秘密投标、总统拍板的做法。

另一重大改变是,将钻石、黄金、铀矿领域的所有监管工作,移交给 “战略矿产市场监管局”。过去一直担负此职能的Sodiam,已转型为专责促进安哥拉钻石出口和国内销售的商业公司。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Angola wants to become international mining powerhouse

14 February 2013

Angola wants to become an international mining powerhouse, attracting investors to steel, gold and copper production thus leaving the sector less dependent on diamond price fluctuations.

An essential part of this was the Minister for Geology and Mining, Francisco Queiroz, presenting investment opportunities to international investors last week at Mining Indaba, Africa’s biggest mining fair.

Diversification, the minister said, cited by newspaper Jornal de Angola, includes making aggregate exploration more common, revitalisation of the ornamental rock sub-sector, and opening iron, gold, phosphate and copper mines.

The minister gave investors his assurance that Angola had an attractive private investment law, is politically stable, and also noted that the government was acting to increase its knowledge of the country’s geological potential.

“Within three years we will have a full map [of mining resources], which will help to attract investment, on a more secure basis, to promote investment and attract investors from other countries,” said Queiroz.

“We will take specialised photographs of our entire territory to identify resources. We will have a database that will allow us to plan exploration and investment to ensure the survival of future generations. We will also plan cooperation with investing countries,” he said.

The survey is being carried out by Russia’s Alrosa, to identify the quality and size of Angolan reserves.

In Cape Town, Queiroz noted there was a need to revitalise the diamond sub-sector, along its entire chain, to provide new concessions for prospecting, exploration, diamond cutting, along with finding investments for the national mining industry, as well as a jewellery industry.

Mining investors and operators took part in the South African fair along with banks and services companies. Angola was represented by Endiama, Sodiam, Ferrangol and other mining companies.

According to the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), Queiroz’s “bid for Angola to become a ‘mining powerhouse in Africa’ may not be that far-fetched,” as it was likely there would be “more interest from overseas firms and investors”.

The interest is based on new concessions that are due to start being explored and the fact that a New Mining Code has come into force.

“However, international firms may choose to wait for the results of the geological survey before they come forward, while delivering on programmes to improve energy supplies and infrastructure will be key to development of the mining sector”, said the EIU m its latest report on Angola.

According to the EIU railways, roads and ports are being repaired and prospecting and exploration for iron ore, gold, and copper have begun, including medium term plans for building aluminium foundries.

The new mining code is intended to introduce more transparency to the industry, along with improving guarantees for foreign investors and safeguard the environment and local jobs.

Foreign investors welcomed the more detailed legal framework, especially joining exploration and production contracts, greater transparency in granting mining rights and clarifications of the tax regime, as well as the stake to be held by Angolan entities.

Amongst other things the new code establishes that concessions in areas considered to have great geological potential (diamonds, gold or metals such as uranium) should be submitted for public tender, replacing the current system of sealed proposals, in which the final decision is made by the Angolan President, the EIU said.

Another significant change is transfer of all regulatory responsibilities for diamonds, gold and uranium to the Regulating Agency of the Strategic Minerals Market. Sodiam, which used to have these duties, has become a commercial unit in charge of promoting Angolan diamonds overseas and for selling them on the domestic market. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH