安哥拉BIC银行将成为葡语国家中最新面世的银行

2013年02月04日

若干葡语国家将有几家银行面世,其中,BIC银行(“BIC”)收购BPN巴西和BPN佛得角的计划,正等候葡萄牙政府批准。BIC还计划将业务扩展至安哥拉周边国家。

BIC主席Telles在接受里斯本财经报章《流动资金》的访问时称:“我们将朝着分别在佛得角和巴西各拥有一家国际金融机构的目标进发,同时,我们正研究安哥拉周边国家的市场。”

他说,收购BPN巴西和BPN佛得角的建议已正式提出,BIC“正等候(葡政府)拍板”,预料“未来几个月”将有决定。

按BIC的构想,BPN佛得角目前的经营模式将维持不变。至于巴西,BIC打算开设零售分行,以服务落户该国的安哥拉和葡萄牙企业。“我们也希望服务巴西企业,特别是与葡萄牙和安哥拉有业务来往的企业,”Telles说。

在担任了几年BPI集团旗下安哥拉Fomento银行一把手之后,Telles目前领军BIC,并成为集团其中一位主要股东(占股20%)。其余两位主要股东,是Isabel dos Santos和AméricoAmorim(均占25%)。

BPI是葡语国家中(特别是安哥拉)最活跃银行集团之一。另外两家为葡萄牙的圣灵银行和BCP千年银行。

主要股东为何鸿燊、苏树辉和Ferro Ribeiro的Geocapital集团,已开始了在葡语国家建立金融机构网络的重大计划,包括佛得角的储蓄银行、几内亚比绍的非洲东方银行,以及莫桑比克的Moza银行。

作为安哥拉一家指标银行,BIC在葡萄牙起家、壮大,收购葡萄牙BPN银行后,更是如虎添翼,使其在安哥拉的分行数字,扩展至200家。

BIC的优先政策,是分行的健康有序发展。今年将有20至30家新分行,预计逾半在首季度开业。

BIC主席在访问中说:“我们是继安国国家银行之后,在安哥拉拥有最多分行的银行。”

BIC早前已搁置了在伦敦证交所上市的构想,目前正计划在未来的罗安达证交所安排部分资产上市。

BIC主席说:“当罗安达有自己的证交所时,我们银行就地上市集资,是很自然的事。预期交易所将于今年内开张,首先交投的是国有资产的证券,接着是企业的股票。”

他说:“相信交易所会在2013年开市。安哥拉政府一直很谨慎,因为一旦交易所开张,资本就可自由流动,这是安哥拉要小心考虑的。”

BIC拥有7.6亿美元资金,故“不存在周转问题”,且持续“获利可观”。

BIC的业务重点,是安哥拉周边国家:除葡语国家外,还包括刚果、赞比亚和纳米比亚。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Angola’s Banco BIC is Portuguese-speaking world’s new bank

4 February 2013

The Portuguese-speaking world will soon have a new bank operating in several countries, BIC, which is waiting for authorisation from the Portuguese government to absorb BPN Brasil and BPN Cabo Verde and which plans to expand to markets around Angola.

“We will progress to having an IFI (international financial institution) in Cape Verde and Brazil and, as well as this, we are also analysing the markets around Angola,” said the chairman of BIC, in an interview with financial newspaper Dinheiro Vivo in Lisbon.

The proposals for Cape Verde’s BPN and Brazil’s BPN have been put forward, and the bank, “is waiting for decisions” from the Portuguese authorities, which is expected to happened “in the next few months” he said.

In the case of BPN Cabo Verde, the current business model is expected to be maintained and in Brazil’s case the aim is to open up branches to operate in retail, particularly for Angolan and Portuguese companies present in the Brazilian market.

“We also want to work with Brazilian companies, particularly those that do business with Portugal or Angola,” Telles said.

After heading up Banco Fomento Angola (BFA) (BPI group) for several years, Telles is now leading BIC and is one of its biggest shareholders (20 percent), along with Isabel dos Santos and Américo Amorim (25 percent).

The BPI group has one of the most significant presences in the Portuguese-speaking countries, particularly Angola, along with other Portuguese banks such Espírito Santo (BES) and Millennium BCP.

The Geocapital group, whose main shareholders are Stanley Ho, Ambrose So and Ferro Ribeiro, has started to establish a significant network of financial institutions in the Portuguese-speaking world, including Cape Verde (Caixa Económica), Guinea Bissau (Banco da África Ocidental) and Mozambique (Moza Banco).

A benchmark bank in Angola, BIC had been growing in Portugal and this was driven further by the acquisition of Banco Português de Negócios (BPN), which allowed it to expand its network of branches in the country to 200.

Organic growth will be a priority in Angola and this year BIC is expected to open between 20 and 30 new branches, half of which in the first quarter.

“We are the bank in Angola, after the state bank, which has most branches” he said in the Dinheiro Vivo interview.

After setting aside the possibility of listing on the London Stock Exchange, the bank is now expected to float some of its capital on the future Luanda stock exchange.

“When there is a stock exchange in Angola, it is natural that the bank will float its capital. The exchange is expected to be opened this year, and first State securities will be traded, followed by those of companies,” said the chairman of BIC.

“It is expected that 2013 will be the year that operations begin. The Angolan State has been quite prudent because opening the stock exchange is allow capital to move freely and that is something that Angola has been pondering”, said Telles.

The bank, “has no liquidity problems” as it has funds of US$760 million, and continues to have “good profitability”.

The priority markets are those around Angola, such as the Congo, Zambia and Namibia, as well as the Portuguese-speaking ones. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH