葡语非洲国家银行界准备推出人民币业务

2016年09月08日

葡语非洲国家的银行界(特别是葡萄牙和中国的银行)准备向上述地区企业推出一系列人民币业务,而澳门将成为跨境人民币业务的清算平台。

葡萄牙储蓄信贷银行(CGD)9月5日在里斯本举办了一个研讨会,主题为“善用澳门平台以及上海金融中心的地位,鼓励中国与葡语国家之间的合作”,出席会议的,有澳门和上海两地的金融监管当局代表和金融、法律领域的高层。

CGD行长EmidioPinheiro称,该行在澳门拥有旗下机构大西洋银行(BNU),BNU在上海设有代表处;又在九个葡语国家中的七个有业务,故该行“具有优势以具体落实”促进中国与葡语世界的金融互动。

BNU执行委员会主席Pedro Cardoso强调,中国与葡语国家之间的关系“发展得非常快”,尽管由于自然资源价格大跌,导致贸易政策须“不断调整”。中国在这些国家的投资仍然“非常切合实际”,其中有些是通过澳门这个平台实现(例如澳门商人周锦辉斥资3亿美元,在佛得角投资赌场酒店项目)。

BNU在澳门(法定货币为澳门元)拥有22万客户,相当于澳门人口的三分之一;2015年的营业收入较2012年增加超过一倍。

据Cardoso介绍,BNU自2009年起,已提供涵盖人民币信用卡、借记卡和存款业务,业务聚焦于葡萄牙、莫桑比克、安哥拉、佛得角和东帝汶等国与中国有紧密联系的进口商和出口商。

中国银行也提供跨境人民币综合清算服务,涵盖人民币海外存款,贷款和各种金融产品。

随着中国和葡语世界关系日益密切,在巴西、安哥拉和葡萄牙都有业务,以及(与CGD合伙)在其他葡语国家都设有支援办事处的BNU,有意在人民币国际化领域扮演重要角色。

2015年11月,国际货币基金组织(IMF)正式批准将人民币纳入特别提款权货币篮子。人民币在篮子中的权重为10.92%,仅次于美元(41.73%)和欧元(30.93%)。这是人民币国际化的一个重要里程碑——预期人民币将为“一带一路”倡议注入新动力。

澳门金融管理局主席丁连星出席了里斯本会议。金管局强调,澳门特区正建立一个面向中国和葡语国家之间的人民币清算平台,“或会支持人民币的国际化进程”、“为中国和葡语国家之间的人民币经贸交易提供清算便利”。

丁连星称,2015年中国与葡语国家之间的贸易量超过980亿美元,使用人民币进行跨境贸易的前景相当广阔。

上海市金融服务办公室主任郑杨称,人民币有望成为“促进葡萄牙经济增长一个新的因素”,上海有意推出人民币的金融产品和国际支付服务,以促进人民币的跨境应用、开展离岸人民币业务。

他说,另一个目标是促进葡语国家之间的金融合作,而葡萄牙和澳门的金融机构应可善用语言优势,促进中国与葡语国家之间的贸易量。

郑杨说:“葡萄牙是中国在欧盟中最重要的商业伙伴,几乎是上海市金融机构投资海外必选的首站。”他指出,中国企业纷纷投资葡萄牙(例如海通集团进军金融业、复星集团进军保险业),期望有更多葡萄牙企业到上海大展拳脚。(macauhub/CN/MO/PT)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Banking prepared to offer services in renminbi in Portuguese-speaking Africa

8 September 2016

The internationalisation of China’s currency, the renminbi, in cross-border trade in which Macau will serve as a clearing platform, has been anticipated by Portuguese and Chinese banks, offering a range of services in Chinese currency to companies in the Portuguese-speaking countries.

The use of Macau as a platform along with Shanghai’s financial centre, to encourage cooperation between China and Portuguese-speaking countries was the subject of a conference organised by the state-owned Portuguese bank Caixa Geral de Depósitos (CGD), which on 5 September in Lisbon brought together the financial authorities of the two Chinese regions, as well as financial and legal sector executives.

Emidio Pinheiro, chief executive of CGD said that the public bank is “well placed to give practical meaning” to promoting China’s financial exchanges with the Portuguese-speaking world, as it has a branch in Macau, Banco Nacional Ultramarino (BNU), an office in Shanghai and a presence in seven of the nine Portuguese-speaking countries.

Pedro Cardoso, BNU’s CEO, stressed that the relationship between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries “has evolved very quickly” and that despite the “ongoing correction” in trade due to commodity prices, Chinese investment in these countries remains “very relevant”, some of which has passed through Macau such as David Chow’s hotel and casino complex in Cabo Verde (Cape Verde), valued at US$300 million.

In Macau, where it issues the pataca, the BNU has 220,000 customers, about a third of the population and in 2015 its revenue more than doubled compared to 2012.

Since 2009, the BNU has offered services in renminbi (RMB), including credit cards, debit cards and deposits, focusing on importers and exporters with a close relationship with China, which it offers in Portugal, Mozambique, Angola, Cabo Verde and Timor -Leste (East Timor) Cardoso said.

The Bank of China also offers an integrated cross-border RMB clearing service, which also includes deposits in RMB abroad, loans and various financial products in the Chinese currency.

Its agency in Macau, given the boost in relations between China and the Portuguese-speaking world, intends to play an important role in RMB internationalisation, as it is present in Brazil, Angola and Portugal, and has a support office for trade with Portuguese-speaking countries acting in partnership with Caixa Geral de Depósitos.

In November 2015, the IMF officially approved the inclusion of the RMB in its currency basket, with a weight of 10.92%, after the dollar and euro. This was an important milestone in the process of internationalisation of the Chinese currency, which is expected to experience a new impetus in its use with the “One Belt, One Road” initiative.

The Lisbon conference was attended by Anselmo Teng, chairman of the Macau Monetary Authority, which stressed that the MSAR is establishing an RMB clearing platform between China and Portugal, “and may support internationalisation procedures” of the Chinese currency and the “provision of facilities to clear economic and trade transactions in RMB between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries.”

Potential development in the cross-border use of RMB between China and Portuguese-speaking countries is very broad, given the current level of trade of more than US$98 billion in 2015, said Teng.

Zheng Yang, director of the Shanghai Municipal Financial Services Authority said it intended to promote new financial products and international payments in RMB, “to strengthen cross-border use and develop offshore business in that currency, in what could be “a new factor for economic growth in Portugal.”

Another objective, he said, is to promote financial cooperation between Portuguese-speaking countries, with financial institutions in Portugal and Macau able to take advantage of the language to increase trade between China and Portuguese-speaking countries.

“Portugal is China’s most important business partner in the European Union, having almost served as the first stop for Shanghai’s financial institutions on their investment path abroad,” Zheng said, noting the Chinese groups that have invested in the Portuguese financial (Haitong) and insurance (Fosun) sectors and said he hoped more Portuguese financial institutions would set themselves up in Shanghai. (macauhub/CN/MO/PT)

MACAUHUB FRENCH