巴西自我确立为安哥拉和莫桑比克的“政经要角”

2012年05月21日

据研究员Loro Horta观察,巴西正在确立自己在安哥拉和莫桑比克,以及其他非洲国家,扮演一个“政治经济主要角色”,巴西公司投资于与中国、印度重要企业所投资的相同领域。

在本月出版《拉丁商业纪事》(Latin Business Chronicle)的一篇名为 “拥抱巨蟒:上升中的巴西进入非洲”的文章中,Horta认为,由于注意力都集中在中、印两个冒起的经济体身上,巴西无声无息地进占非洲舞台。

该研究员又说,“一个上升中的巴西,有成长中的强大商业社群,手中有财富,

极欲物色新市场去投资。”

他指出,巴西企业正在诸如马拉维、津巴布韦和纳米比亚等国家,落实项目,但巴西主要的投资对象国,是葡语非洲国家,特别是安哥拉和莫桑比克。

莫桑比克即将取得巴西历来在非洲最大的投资:矿业集团淡水河谷将斥资17亿美元,在莫国修建铁路。

他说,“巴西资金多半会投资于矿业领域,特别是采煤业。”

可是,农业也是巴西投资的重要目标,据最近的新闻报道,莫桑比克政府希望吸引投资于棉花,黄豆和玉米的农商,并为此拨出土地。

再一个领域是生物燃料。巴西政府早前已为此预留9,700万美元信贷额,支持小型农业项目,其后信贷额增至3亿美元。

巴西在安哥拉的投资,在2002至2008年期间上升了20倍,涉及Petrobras、 Odebrecht、Andrade Gutierrez和淡水河谷等集团。

巴西政府这个月在巴西利亚,正式为安哥拉开立一个总值20亿美元的信贷额。

巴西总统迪尔玛·罗塞芙一次访问安哥拉期间称,巴西介入非洲有若干原则,包括尽可能雇用非洲人、优先考虑技术转移、与当地企业组成合作伙伴,以及尊重当地法律。

据Horta称,巴总统作此声明“绝非偶然”,中国企业正是因为不雇用当地劳工而备受抨击。因此,巴西的成就,显示它“对另一个在非洲也是上升中的、过去十年来无人不知其存在的国家——中国——而言,越来越成为竞争者”。

Horta说,虽然毫无疑问,中国在安哥拉有较大参与,巴西代表团的官员“突出一个事实:注意到在安哥拉的外企中,巴西企业是最大的雇主”。

Loro Horta长居非洲达23年,毕业于中国人民解放军国防大学,又曾在美国海军研究生院、美国国防大学,以及南洋理工大学完成学业。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Brazil establishes itself as “major political and economic actor” in Angola and Mozambique

21 May 2012

Brazil is establishing its place as a “major political and economic actor,” in Angola, Mozambique and in other African countries, with its companies investing in the same sectors as important Chinese and Indian investors, according to researcher Loro Horta.

In an article entitled, “The Embrace of the Anaconda: A rising Brazil enters Africa,” published this month in the Latin Business Chronicle, Horta said that the growing Brazilian presence has gone unnoticed, as the focus has been on China and India, which are two other large emerging economies.

“A rising Brazil with a growing powerful business community is eager to find new markets to invest its new found wealth,” the researcher said.

Brazilian companies are implementing projects in countries such as Malawi, Zimbabwe, and Namibia, but the main destination for Brazilian investment is Portuguese-speaking African countries, particularly Angola and Mozambique, he noted.

The Mozambican economy is due to receive the biggest ever Brazilian investment in Africa: A railroad costing US$ 1.7 billion launched by mining group Vale.

“Most Brazilian investment is likely to go to the mining sector in particular to coal mining,” he said.

However, agriculture is also an important target for Brazilian investment, and according to recent news the Mozambican government wants to attract cotton, soy, and maize producers to the country, and plans to make land available for this.

Another focus has been biofuel production for which the Brazilian government has earmarked a US$97 million credit line for small agricultural projects, which was later increased to US$300 million.

In Angola Brazilian investment rose 20-fold between 2002 and 2008 and involved groups such as Petrobras, Odebrecht, Andrade Gutierrez, and Vale.

This month a new credit line worth US$2 billion for Angola was officially set up in Brasilia by the Brazilian government.

During a visit to Angola Brazil’s president Dilma Rousseff said that the principles of Brazil’s involvement in Africa were to make efforts to hire Africans, to make technology transfer a priority, to set up partnerships with local partners, and to respect local laws.

According to Horta, “it is no coincidence,” that Rousseff made these statement in Angola, where Chinese companies have been criticised for not hiring local workers, and thus the Brazilian position demonstrates its “growing competition with another rising power who has in the past decade been building an impressive presence throughout the continent: China.”

Although China’s larger presence in Angola is unquestionable, officials from the Brazilian delegation, “made a point of noticing that Brazilian companies are the biggest foreign employers in the country,” Horta said. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH