佛得角进一步对外国投资开放

2017年03月27日
Macauhub

根据一份最近出版的报告,非洲葡语国家中发展程度最高、政治经济最稳定的佛得角,正准备一套进一步开放外国投资的措施。

由“非洲观察情报”、“非洲葡语国家(PALOP)法律数据库”(一个以法律知识和信息分享平台,www.legis-palop.org/bd)和Eupportunity(一家专注欧洲事务的咨询公司,www.eupportunity.eu)合办的新刊物《非洲报告》,本月首发,首期聚焦于佛得角近年的发展和今年的展望。

该刊物认为,佛得角未来数月的主要趋势之一,是(有待政府提交的)私有化计划。计划涵盖港口和机场管理、能源、水、船舶维修、空运、药物产销、公营企业的财务重整(特别是国营佛得角航空、房地产企业IFH)。后者由于大型住房项目“大众住房”遇到各种风险,财务陷于困境。

其他走势包括,“由于公共投资的利润空间收窄”,私营部门(特别是与外国投资有关的)“通过近年在基建领域的大幅增长,扮演更吃重的角色,以驱动增长和就业”。营商环境的改善,“是政府其中一项短期目标”。

报告称:“税务改革的计划极具雄心,相应地,创造条件推动为经济进行融资的目标也具雄心。同时,预期劳工市场、教育及培训等倡议的落实措施将有较大弹性,以进一步消除技能错配的情况,以免损及生产力。”

报告指出的其他趋势包括“地区化”(自1月开始,国内每个岛都设一个“政府的”议会),以及与欧盟深化关系。

报告附上由各国际金融机构(包括欧盟、欧洲投资银行、世界银行及非洲开发银行)所提供的国际发展援助,以及外国投资体制(投资者保证、以外资设立的企业等)的信息。

报告也列出最近数月佛得角风云人物的头五位,包括现任佛国总理席尔瓦。属于“争取民主运动”的他,2016年以絶大多数票数当选总理,结束左翼“佛得角非洲独立党”过去15年来的执政地位。

报告指出:“争取民主运动”的压倒性胜利,让席尔瓦“拥有顺利推行政纲的独特优势——中央放权、减低国家在经济运行中的角色、更多私人企业、改善旅游业和其他产业的营商计划,以吸引投资。这与其前任内韋斯领导的政府形成强烈对比。”又称:“上届政府债台高筑、主要公营企业的财政状况脆弱,都是迫切要解决的问题。”(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Cabo Verde reinforces openness to foreign investment

27 March 2017
Macauhub

Cabo Verde (Cape Verde), the Portuguese-speaking African country with the highest level of development and greatest political and economic stability, is preparing a set of measures to further open up the archipelago to foreign investment, according to a recent publication.

Recent developments and prospects for this year in the Cabo Verde archipelago are the focus of the first of the Africa Reports, a new publication launched this month, joining Africa Monitor Intelligence, Legis-PALOP, a legal knowledge and information sharing platform and Eupportunity , a consultancy specialised in European affairs.

Among the main trends identified in Cabo Verde for the coming months are privatisation, pending the presentation by the government of a programme that includes the management of ports and airports, energy and water, ship repair, air transport, production and sale of drugs and the financial restructuring of public enterprises, in particular airline TACV and real estate company Imobiliária Fundiária e Habitat (IFH), which is in a weak financial situation due to the risks of its largest housing project (House for All).

Other trends identified include improving the business climate “one of the government’s big short term goals,” as the “reduced margin for public investment” means the private sector, especially when related to foreign investment, “has to assume a more prominent role as a driver of growth and employment, based on the considerable expansion of infrastructure in recent years.”

“The tax reform package is ambitious, as are the aims of creating conditions to promote financing of the economy. Similarly, measures are expected for greater flexibility of the labour market and education and training initiatives, to further reduce a mismatch of skills, which affects productivity,” says the report.

The second half of the year will be also marked by regionalisation, mooted in January, including a “government” and a deliberative assembly on each island as well as the deepening of relations with the European Union.

The report includes information on international development assistance from various international institutions funds – including the European Union, the European Investment Bank, the World Bank and the African Development Bank – and also data on the foreign investment regime, including guarantees for investors and setting up companies with foreign capital.

The report also highlights the top five figures in Cabo Verde in recent months, including Ulisses Correia da Silva, elected prime minister in 2016, with an absolute majority, breaking a 15-year cycle of governance by left-wing party PAICV.

The political hegemony conquered in 2016 by his party, MpD, gives Ulisses, “unique conditions to impose its agenda, in stark contrast to the governments (of former Prime Minister) José Maria Neves: administrative decentralisation, reduction of the state’s role in the economy, more private enterprise, improving the business climate to attract investments to the tourism sector and beyond this,” the report said.

“The high debt burden inherited from the previous government, together with the weak financial situation of the major public companies are urgent problems to be solved,” it said. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH