佛得角2017年工作重点是恢复竞争力以吸引投资

2016年11月28日

《非洲观察情报》引述佛得角《国家预算2017》称,恢复竞争力以吸引投资,从而刺激经济增长、创造就业,是佛国新政府来年其中一个施政重点。

《非洲观察情报》称,佛国当局与代理商之间就北非国家和西非国家之间商业税优惠的纠纷已经升级,以及佛国逐渐失去竞争优势,都在该国世界银行《全球商业环境报告》的营商环境排名上得到反映(和去年相比,今年佛国下跌了四位)。

《非洲观察情报》称,改善竞争力的一个关键因素,是振兴财政系统。目前佛国的财经系统语塞,主要是银行规模小、利率趋升、批出信贷的规模趋降、企业借贷过度。

《国家预算2017》上周在国会获执政党“民主运动”的支持下通过。根据国家预算,“考虑到信贷条件和营商环境已有改善,将促进私营部门的活力和外商直接投资”,2017年经济增长预测为5.5%。民主运动于今年3月的议会选举中得胜,重夺执政地位。

佛国总理说:“我们维持年经济增长率为7%、通过立法会创造4.5万个职位的预测”,增长“基本上聚焦于旅游业”,但同时聚焦于海洋、信息通讯技术、离岸服务、可再生能源和服务等领域的经济。

为便利、刺激创业家活动而采取的一系列措施中,包括下调个人最高入息税一个百分点至24%,以及引入新的税务宽免。

有关个人入息税的措施包括:预期将取消双重征税、限制会导致提升自缴税税率的情况、对在前一课税年度录得经营亏损,或者初次开展业务者给予税务宽免,以及取消分期缴税最低额的安排。

2017年税务优惠计划包括:可享优惠的最低投资额下调至5亿埃斯库多(佛币,约合480万美元)、减低职位数目;把可享50%税务优惠的企业延伸至新的战略产业;税务优惠期延长至15年等。

《预算》又将信息通讯技术和酒店运营相关投资的概念,拓展至从佛得角证交所赚取的收入——豁免2017-2025年期间从证券市场赚取的入息之税负。

在政府层面,一般相信,消除避税活动,或可为减低税率和未来的税制改革提供空间,以及基于由财长Olavo Correia下达的、对税制竞争性的研究,改善税金征收系统的效率。

对商务代理人来说,税制改革的最大动作,是创设了“主权保障基金”以改善大中型企业、金融机构对外举债的通道,与此同时,与世界银行洽谈规模约500万美元的保证基金,以解救遭遇财政困局的企业、改善中小企业的融资通道。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Cabo Verde’s priority in 2017 is to recover competitiveness to attract investment

28 November 2016

Regaining competitiveness to attract investment to Cabo Verde (Cape Verde) and thus increase economic growth and job creation, is one of the new government’s priorities included in the State Budget for 2017, according to the Africa Intelligence Monitor.

The publication wrote that the ongoing dispute between North and West African countries for tax breaks on business activities has intensified between authorities and business agents in Cabo Verde, and a perceived loss of competitiveness in the country, had all been underlined by the recent drop of four places in the “Doing Business” list of the World Bank.

Boosting the financial system was also identified as key to improving competitiveness, said the Africa Intelligence Monitor. The financial system is currently blocked as it has small banks, credit granted by banks at reduced levels, with high interest rates and companies in a situation excessive debt.

During the debate for the 2017 Budget, approved last week with favourable votes of the Movement for Democracy (MPD), winner of the general election in March 2016, the Prime Minister stressed the economic growth forecast of 5.5% in 2017 “driven by improved credit conditions and the business climate, which will drive more dynamic private sector and foreign direct investment.”

“We maintain the targets for average annual economic growth of 7% and the creation of 45,000 jobs over the term of office,” it said, with growth “mainly focusing on tourism,” but also on the maritime economy, information technology and offshore communication services, renewable energy and services.

The range of measures to facilitate and stimulate business activity, include a one percentage point lowering of the maximum personal income tax (IRPS), to 24%, easing of the Special Scheme for Micro and Small Business (Rempe) and the introduction of new tax benefits.

Tax on personal income (IRPC), among other measures, is expected to see the elimination of double taxation, restriction of situations that lead to an increase in the self-paying tax rate, release from payment in installments for taxpayers who had negative results in the previous year and those that begin their activity and elimination of the obligation to pay the minimum installment.

The tax benefit package included in the 2017 State Budget includes reducing the amount of investment to benefit from contractual benefits, to 500 million escudos (US$4.8 million), and reduction of jobs, expansion into new strategic sectors of the 50% investment credit and extension of the period for deduction of credit for investment to 15 years.

It also extended the concept of relevant investment for the areas of information and communication technologies and hotel operation and extended the term of the exemption of income from the securities market, with public offerings and listings on the Cabo Verde Stock Exchange from 2017 to 2025.

At a government level there is a belief that a reduction in tax evasion may allow for tax rate reductions and a future tax reform, along with improvements in efficiency of the tax collection system, based on the results of a study on tax competitiveness ordered by the Finance Minister Olavo Correia.

Among the measures that are most exciting to business agents is the creation of a Sovereign Guarantee Fund, to improve access to external financing for medium and large enterprises as well as financial institutions, as well as a guarantee fund of around US$5 million, to be negotiated with the World Bank to recover companies and improve access to finance for small and medium enterprises. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH