常和喜先生在中葡論譠常設秘書處工作八年後離職

2016年08月05日

在中葡论坛常设秘书处秘书长常和喜先生离任之际,Macauhub新闻服务中心对其进行了专访。常和喜先生回顾了在任八年多来的工作,并展望中葡论坛常设秘书处的未来。

在您任职的8年多中,您认为自2008年上任至今中葡论坛发生的最大的变化是什么?

直以来,中葡论坛常设秘书处在各与会国政府、澳门特区政府及社会各界的大力支持下,在秘书处全体人员的共同努力下,按照中葡论坛经贸合作行动纲领规定的内容,利用澳门平台,积极推动中国内地、澳门及葡语国家在经贸、人力资源开发合作及语言文化等各领域开展交流合作,取得了一定进展,澳门作为中国与葡语国家商贸合作服务平台的作用得到进一步加强。

几年来,常设秘书处会同各相关部门,致力于推动各领域合作,积极推动落实、宣传中葡合作发展基金,支持协助澳门“一个平台,三个中心”的建设,通过举办与企业对话会、座谈会和青年企业家论坛,加强论坛与会国企业之间的交流合作;通过举办省市长圆桌会,加强论坛与会国省市和地区间的交流合作;通过举办江苏•澳门•葡语国家工商峰会和各产业小组的推进工作,加强论坛与会国产业领域的合作;通过举办中葡双语人才培养及旅游会展高层研讨会,加强论坛与会国在语言教学和人才培养以及旅游会展领域的交流合作;通过举办葡语国家投资营商环境推介会和工作坊,介绍葡语国家投资环境和优先发展领域,为企业赴葡语国家开展合作搭建了平台;通过举办研修班,扩大了论坛与会国多领域人员的友好往来,推动了论坛与会国在人力资源领域的合作;通过举办中国与葡语国家文化周,加强论坛与会国在文化领域的交流,加深了相互间了解,增进了友谊。

我也借此机会,对论坛与会国政府、澳门特区政府及社会各界以及秘书处全体人员的大力支持和帮助表示衷心感谢。

多年来,中国与葡语国家关系不断增进,双方合作不仅停留在资金援助方面,也拓展至投资领域。您认为双方在哪些领域的合作将进一步发展?比如农业、渔业、基础设施、社会公益、教育、能源等。

常设秘书处始终按照经贸合作行动纲领规定的内容,利用澳门平台,采取多种方式,开展多边交流,推动各领域合作。秘书处本着积极务实的原则,不断创新合作模式,推动与会国利用澳门平台,在各领域开展合作,取得了良好效果,也受到了葡语国家的普遍欢迎。譬如在农业领域,推动江苏•澳门•葡语国家工商峰会理事会下设的农业产业合作推进小组召开第一次工作会议,与葡语国家共同确定年度工作计划,江苏省与安哥拉、巴西签署了相关项目合作协议,合作取得进展;在渔业领域,协助浙江及江苏省有关部门和企业前往东帝汶、几内亚比绍及安哥拉进行考察,挖掘合作潜力,受到葡语国家的高度欢迎;在基础设施领域,在国际基础设施投资与建设高峰论坛期间,秘书处举办了中国-葡语国家基础设施建设部长级对话会、中国-葡语国家金融及国际产能合作高层研讨会等相关活动,向中国内地及澳门本地企业推介葡语国家投资营商环境、政策、潜在项目等资讯,进一步加强中国内地及澳门企业对葡语国家的了解;在人力资源领域,利用中葡论坛培训中心平台,为葡语国家相关人员提供来澳培训研修机会,与澳门特区政府相关部门开展合作,为葡语国家人员提供来澳实习机会,还举办了中国-葡语国家双语人才培养及教学研讨会等一系列活动。可以说,秘书处按照行动纲领的原则,务实推动中国与葡语国家在各个领域的合作。

近年来,中国与葡语国家关系不断深化。然而双方仍有巨大的投资与商业合作潜力等待挖掘。您认为是否有必要不断深入了解各葡语国家的供求情况?这方面的推动是否应在中葡论坛内加以强化?

几年来,秘书处一直致力于推动中国与葡语国家企业开展交流合作,积极参加在澳门及中国内地举办的大型展览及会议,并设置葡语国家馆,就是为了大力推介葡语国家投资营商环境及商机。秘书处还通过举办投资对接会、项目推介会及企业座谈会等形式,与内地企业开展互动交流,把葡语国家的潜在商机介绍给内地企业,目的是让内地企业对葡语国家有进一步的了解。在推介过程中,我们发现内地部分企业对葡语国家还缺乏足够了解,因此,秘书处将继续着力强化宣传推介,帮助更多内地企业了解葡语国家,挖掘更多合作商机。

2013年创立的中国与葡语国家合作发展基金至今未充分发挥作用。请问问题出在哪里?是因为缺乏信息、政策支撑,还是因为中葡合作发展基金未得到关注?非洲、葡萄牙、亚洲和巴西是否关注该基金?怎样使这一数十亿美元规模的基金发挥中国理想的作用?

秘书处一直积极推动落实中葡合作发展基金,希望在中葡基金项下开展更多项目。中葡基金是由中葡基金管理公司负责,采取商业化运作模式,对企业提交的项目材料等也有一定要求。为使更多企业了解基金,秘书处做了大量工作,协助国开行介绍中葡基金有关情况,包括基金使用条件及申报程序,还利用秘书处在内地、葡语国家举办各种活动的机会,邀请中葡基金进行宣介,譬如每年在葡语国家举办的中国与葡语国家企业经贸合作洽谈会期间,中葡基金也受邀参加,使更多人对如何使用中葡基金有进一步了解。秘书处也认为无论对内地、澳门或葡语国家企业,都有必要进一步加大宣传中葡基金,使他们了解基金的具体情况及如何使用基金,有助于企业在提交项目时更加符合相关要求,便于加快项目立项程序。

中葡论坛、澳门贸易投资促进局都是澳门发展中国与葡语国家关系的平台,两机构职能难免有重叠。您认为是否应更加明确两机构各自的职能?

无论是秘书处、IPIM及其它澳门特区政府相关部门,都在积极打造澳门成为中葡商贸合作服务平台。利用澳门平台,推动内地、澳门及葡语国家开展合作是大家的共同目标,一直以来,秘书处和IPIM相互支持,密切配合,特别是在推动企业合作交流方面,秘书处与IPIM配合默契,沟通紧密,在推动内地、葡语国家及澳门企业开展合作方面,IPIM结合自身优势做了大量工作,发挥了重要作用。去年,秘书处与IPIM共同开展了各葡语国家工作坊,由秘书处各国派驻代表进行宣介,邀请内地和澳门企业参加,取得了良好效果。在建设“一个平台、三个中心”过程中,秘书处积极配合IPIM,中国-葡语国家经贸合作及人才信息网于2015年4月1日正式开通,葡语国家食品展示中心于2016年 3月31日正式投入运行。

为落实《澳门和中国南部发展规划》,中葡论坛有哪些主要任务?

澳门目前正致力于打造中葡商贸合作服务平台,与中国南部许多   省份合作关系紧密。秘书处始终按照经贸合作行动纲领规定的内容,利用澳门得天独厚的语言、文化及营商环境等优势,积极推动内地与澳门、葡语国家在经贸及其它各方感兴趣的领域开展合作交流。

鉴于大型的投资和商业合作来自中国内地而非澳门,您认为葡语国家中小企业是否应该在面积广阔的泛珠三角地区(南方9省+2个特别行政区)聚力发展?中国与葡语国家企业家是否应视此为一个优先发展区域?

推动内地企业与葡语国家企业利用澳门平台开展交流合作,一直是秘书处的主要工作。澳门自身拥有语言、文化等独特优势,还有一批了解内地、葡语国家市场的企业,在中国与葡语国家开展经贸交流中,澳门发挥的作用不言而喻。泛珠三角地区与澳门联系密切,也希望利用澳门平台与葡语国家进一步开展合作,所以,对秘书处来说,无论是泛珠三角地区或中国其它省份,只要有意同葡语国家开展合作,我们都会积极加以推动,目前,秘书处已经同泛珠三角地区的多个省份建立了联系,并与各省企业开展了沟通交流,介绍了葡语国家投资营商环境,其中有部分企业已前往葡语国家开展实地考察及合作探讨。我们希望有更多的企业利用澳门平台走向葡语国家市场。

中葡论坛一直在组织面向葡语国家的培训项目。您认为这些培训项目效果如何?如何进一步发展?

根据经贸合作行动纲领要求,中葡论坛培训中心自成立以来,每年举办5-6期研修班,内容涉及基建、环保、商法、公共行政管理等多个领域,迄今共举办了31期,共有791名学员参加。通过举行此类研修班,加强了内地、澳门及葡语国家在相关领域的交流合作,受到葡语国家的欢迎,秘书处会进一步加强相关培训工作。

近30年来,与澳门、葡萄牙以及其他葡语国家打交道一直是您的事业核心。您怎样看待未来澳门在中国南部的作用以及与广东省日益紧密的关系?

澳门正致力于打造“一个中心、一个平台”。由于澳门在语言、文化等方面具有自身独特优势,同时与葡语国家联系紧密,通过发挥自身优势,推动中国内地、澳门与葡语国家开展经贸交流,澳门发挥的作用会越来越大,平台地位将日益巩固,平台内容也会越来越丰富。中葡论坛是中国与葡语国家间的多边合作机制,是双边合作的补充,相信通过中葡论坛开展多边交流,将使澳门平台作用得到进一步发挥,让更多企业了解葡语国家,也会挖掘更多的合作商机。

虽然未来难以预测,但还是想请问您如何看待作为中国与葡语国家关系平台的中葡论坛的未来前景?

目前,中葡论坛已走过了13年,在各论坛与会国政府、澳门特区政府及社会各界的支持下,在秘书处全体人员的共同努力下,通过一步一步发展,论坛与会国利用澳门平台,积极开展多边交流,内容不断丰富,形式日益多样,澳门平台作用得到进一步发挥。随着中葡论坛第五届部长级会议的召开,中葡论坛将会有更多务实内容,论坛本身发挥的作用会更大,扮演的角色也会更加重要。

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Chang Hexi leaves Forum de Macau after 8 years in office

5 August 2016

You have headed Forum Macao for more than eight years. What is the major difference between the Forum you are leaving and the one you received in 2008?

The Permanent Secretariat of Forum Macao, supported by the governments of the Macao SAR and participating countries and various local partners, has worked over the years to promote co-operation and exchanges between mainland China, Macao and the Portuguese-speaking countries in the areas of the economy and trade, human resources and language and culture, among others. Considerable progress has been made to achieve the targets set out in Forum Macao’s action plan for economic and cultural co-operation, while simultaneously taking the best advantage of the Macao platform. I believe that Macao’s role as a springboard of services for trade between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries has been consolidated.

In recent years the Forum Macao Permanent Secretariat and its partners have sought to foster co-operation in different areas, implementing and publicising the China/Portuguese-speaking Countries Co-operation and Development Fund, besides supporting efforts to build ‘One Platform, Three Centres’. It has organised business meetings, among them the Young Entrepreneurs Forum, as a way to consolidate exchanges and co-operation among companies from the countries involved. The Secretariat’s efforts have also encompassed several other initiatives, including the following: the round table for provincial and municipal leaders focusing on co-operation between provinces, municipalities and districts of the Forum Macao participating countries; the conference for trade and industrial development of Jiangsu Province, Macao and the Portuguese-speaking countries and activities of the respective working groups to promote sector-related co-operation; the seminar on bilingual teaching and training between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries and the high-level seminar on tourism, conventions and trade fairs between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries to promote educational exchanges, professional contacts, tourism, conventions and exhibitions; the cultural week of China and the Portuguese-speaking countries to promote exchanges and enhance mutual knowledge and ties of friendship among peoples.

The presentation sessions and thematic workshops on the Portuguese-speaking countries have provided information about the investment and business climate and priority development areas, thereby supplying a platform to companies to promote co-operation in those countries. Several symposiums for the Forum Macao training centre helped achieve closer ties among human resources in various areas, promoting co-operation between the Forum Macao countries.

Relations between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries have grown over the years, regarding not just financial support but also investment. In what sectors do you think this relationship will expand? Agriculture and fisheries? Infrastructures? Social support? Education? Energy?

In line with the content set out in the action plans for economic and social co-operation, the Permanent Secretariat has diversely promoted multilateral exchanges and co-operation in many different areas, making use of the Macao platform. Based on dynamic and pragmatic principles, the Secretariat has sought to innovate in its co-operation models, using that platform as a bridge for relations between participating countries. Encouraging progress and results have been obtained. For example, in the agricultural area, the holding of the first meeting of the working group for promotion of agricultural co-operation of the conference on trade and industrial development of Jiangsu Province, Macao and the Portuguese-speaking countries, which decided on an annual activities programme and resulted in the signing of co-operation agreements between Jiangsu province and those countries, namely Angola and Brazil. In the fisheries area support was given to companies and services from Zhejiang and Jiangsu provinces for visits to look into co-operation prospects in Timor-Leste, Guinea-Bissau and Angola. Regarding infrastructures, on the sidelines of the International Forum on Investment and Construction of Infrastructures, the Permanent Secretariat held a ministerial meeting on infrastructures and a high-level seminar on finance and international co-operation for production capacity. The aim was to present to companies from mainland China and Macao the respective environments, businesses and investment policies of the Portuguese-speaking countries along with potential projects, to raise awareness about those countries. As for human resources, the Forum Macao’s training centre was used to hold symposiums in Macao; co-operation with the respective MSAR government services led to the arrangement in Macao of internships destined for the Portuguese-speaking countries as well as a seminar on bilingual teaching and training, among other activities. In short, the Secretariat has pragmatically promoted co-operation in all areas between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries, as stipulated in the action plans.

Much has been accomplished in recent years in relations between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries. But there is still a great lack of awareness about investment potentials and the creation of partnerships and businesses. Is there a pressing need to better publicise what those countries have to offer and receive? Do you believe such promotion should be reinforced in the Forum?

In recent years the Permanent Secretariat has promoted large scale exchanges and co-operation between companies from China and the Portuguese-speaking countries, actively participating in exhibitions and meetings held in Macao and mainland China, setting up the Portuguese-speaking Countries’ Pavilion to promote business and investment opportunities in those countries. The Secretariat has made major efforts to deepen knowledge and foster exchanges with companies from inside China, presenting those countries’ potentials to Chinese companies by organising contact pools, presentations sessions and lectures. One result was that they indicated a notable lack of knowledge about the Portuguese-speaking countries. The Secretariat will therefore continue efforts to raise awareness and provide Chinese companies sufficient information about those countries, thereby creating more and better co-operation opportunities.

The Co-operation and Development Fund was established in 2013 and has been insufficiently utilised. Is there a lack of information, well-grounded proposals or awareness about the Fund? Is it known in Africa, Portugal, Asia and Brazil? What should be done to ensure that this billion dollar fund is actually used as China intended?

The Permanent Secretariat has promoted the China/Portuguese-speaking Countries Co-operation and Development Fund as a stimulus, so that more ventures can be financed. The Fund is managed by its respective management body. The operational model is fairly strict regarding the documents companies must submit in applications to the Fund. The Secretariat has promoted the Fund among companies, providing support to the China Development Bank vis-à-vis the presentation of access conditions and application procedures. A Fund representative has been regularly invited to attend the Meeting of Entrepreneurs for Economic and Commercial Co-operation between China and the Portuguese-speaking Countries, held annually in one of those countries, to raise awareness about the Fund. The Secretariat therefore aims to enhance promotion of the Fund among entrepreneurs in mainland China, Macao and the Portuguese-speaking countries, informing them about the Fund’s current status and application procedures, so that projects that meet the Fund’s requisites can be put forward and quickly processed.

The activity of the Forum and the Macao Trade and Investment Promotion Institute (IPIM) sometimes seems to overlap, even though both institutions promote the Macao platform in relations between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries. Do you believe there should be more distinction between what each is doing?

The Forum Macao Permanent Secretariat, the IPIM and the respective MSAR public services have been enthusiastic about building the services platform for trade co-operation between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries. The Secretariat and the IPIM pursue common co-operation goals, taking advantage of the Macao platform and mutually supporting each other and closely co-ordinating actions, specifically to foster business co-operation and exchanges. In the efforts to promote and enhance co-operation between companies from China, the Portuguese-speaking countries and Macao, the IPIM has played a key role in various activities in line with its specific focus. Last year the Permanent Secretariat and the IPIM organised several workshops on the Portuguese-speaking countries, where those countries’ delegates at Forum Macao were able to present their countries to the attending entrepreneurs from mainland China and Macao. In the process of building and consolidating ‘One Platform, Three Centres’, the Secretariat worked very closely with the IPIM to launch the Economic, Trade and Human Resources Portal, which began operating on 1 April 2015, and also on the official opening of the Exhibition Centre for Food Products from the Portuguese-speaking Countries last 31 March.

What are the Forum’s main tasks with respect to the development plan for Macao and southern China?

Macao has striven to build the services platform for trade co-operation between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries and maintains close co-operation ties with several provinces in southern China. In accordance with guidelines of the action plan for economic and trade co-operation, the Permanent Secretariat seeks to actively promote economic and trade co-operation in all areas of interest for the respective stakeholders by making good use of Macao’s advantages, namely the language, culture and business climate.

Do you believe the pan-Pearl River Delta (9+2) is the region of China where small and medium sized enterprises from Portuguese-speaking countries should concentrate their efforts? Because major investments and business pass through Beijing and not Macao. Shouldn’t this be a priority area so that entrepreneurs from China and the Portuguese-speaking countries can come into contact?

The Permanent Secretariat’s main mission is to promote business co-operation between enterprises from mainland China and the Portuguese-speaking countries by means of the Macao platform. The region plays a key role in economic and trade exchanges between China and those countries, making best use of its cultural and linguistic advantages and the intermediation of local firms familiar with the respective markets. The pan-Pearl River Delta and Macao regions work closely to achieve the prospects for promising co-operation with the Portuguese-speaking countries. With respect to the Permanent Secretariat, every effort will be made to boost co-operation with the pan-Pearl River Delta Region and other Chinese provinces interested in exploring markets in Portuguese-speaking countries. To that end, the Permanent Secretariat has established contacts within the Delta region and with companies from various provinces. As a result, after organising several presentations on business and investment climates in the Portuguese-speaking countries, some companies organised exploratory visits and began dialogue with partners about possible ways to work together. We hope that more companies can enter those countries’ markets, making good use of the Macao platform.

Forum Macao has organised training programmes for the Portuguese-speaking countries. How do you assess results of those programmes and what do you think should be done in that area?

Under the action plans and following the creation of the Forum Macao training centre, five or six thematic symposiums have been held each year on subjects of mutual interest such as infrastructures, environmental protection, business law and public administration, among others. A total of 31 such symposiums have been held, with participation of 791 trainees. The aim is to enhance co-operation and exchanges between mainland China, Macao and the Portuguese-speaking countries, where they have been much appreciated. The Secretariat will continue to consolidate and improve training in this area.

Your relationship with Macao, Portugal and the Portuguese-speaking countries has been the focus of your career over the last 30 years. How do you see Macao’s role in southern China and the growing links with Guangdong province?

Macao is in the phase of building ‘One Centre and One Platform’. By means of its specific linguistic and cultural advantages and the close ties with Portuguese-speaking countries and the promotion of economic and trade exchanges between them, mainland China and Macao, its role as a platform will be increasingly consolidated and enriched. Forum Macao is a multilateral co-operation mechanism that is also complementary in the area of bilateral co-operation. I’m convinced that this mechanism can make a major contribution to boosting the role of the Macao platform, raising businesses’ awareness of the Portuguese-speaking countries and exploring more co-operation opportunities via multilateral exchanges arranged through Forum Macao.

It’s hard to predict the future, but how do you think Forum Macao will evolve as a platform in relations between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries?

Forum Macao has been in existence for 13 years. With the support of the respective governments of the participating countries and the Macao SAR and the various sectors involved, along with the joint effort of the Permanent Secretariat’s staff, the Forum’s participating countries have been achieving via the Macao platform multilateral exchanges with enriched content and various forms of co-operation, consolidating over the years this role that Macao plays. With the holding of the fifth ministerial conference, Forum Macao’s goals will be increasingly oriented to pragmatism and its role and functions ever more relevant. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH