中国“决意、积极”发展与葡语国家间的关系

2013年01月14日

研究人员LoroHorta说,对中国的“兴旺”而言,安哥拉和巴西等国家已变得“举足轻重”。预期中国将继续“决意、着意”地,在发展与葡语国家未来关系上,作出投资。

Horta在他的美国海军研究生院(加州蒙特雷市)硕士论文《中国-葡语国家关系:与日俱增但为世所忘》中指出,在国防安全及能源供应角度看,葡语国家对中国的战略意义,与日俱增。以巴西和安哥拉为例,甚至已称得上“举足轻重”。

Horta在论文答辩时(2012年9月)说:“因此,中国将继续着意、决意地在(国与国间)关系上作投资。”

他说,单单观察葡语国家,就“足证中国越趋复杂的经济和外交政策、反驳对中国介入发展中国家,作过于简单的解读。”

根据中国海关总署最近发布数字,2012年1月至11月,中国与葡语国家间的贸易总额达1,177亿美元,同比增长9.7%。

去年头十一个月,中国自八个葡语国家进口货值,共达805亿美元,同比增长11.86%;出口往上述国家货值达371亿美元,同比增长5.31%。

巴西仍然是八个葡语国家中,中国最大的贸易伙伴,双边贸易总量达781亿美元,同比增长0.66%。

2012年首十一个月,中国与葡语国家中第二大伙伴国安哥拉的双边贸易总额为345.7亿美元,同比增长37.73%。安哥拉出口往中国货值为308.7亿美元,同比增长36.73%;从中国进口货值为37亿美元,同比增长46.72%。

LoroHorta的论文指出,今天对中国而言,中巴关系是最重要的双边关系之一。尽管两国关系不时会“出现紧张”,但基于现实考虑,两国关系仍会持续发展。

在安哥拉,中国的利益系于自然资源,特别是石油。两国关系的重点,是与该国政治精英集团培养紧密关系,而非大量创造就业。但对于缺乏资源的民主国家佛得角,中国企业若要成功,应采截然相反的策略。

LoroHorta说:“中国企业能适应不同国情,制定并不单一的策略,这使其动机看似复杂而常被误解。”

至于莫桑比克,由于在中国国内设厂开始面临种种抵触情绪,且工资越来越高,中国资本逐渐转移海外,在莫国正创造越来越多就业。

Horta的论文说,中国在葡语非洲国家的投资已超越资源采挖业,跨进旅游、农业和银行等领域,以全方位的姿态,“改变人们对中国踏足非洲初期存有的不少偏见。”

同样“显而易见”的是,中国“对葡语国家的关系有长远打算,她的外交官和商人很有耐性、很有韧力”。

LoroHorta来自东帝汶,毕业于(中国)人民解放军国防大学,居住莫桑比克多年。目前替世界各地几家研究所工作。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

China “determined and pro-active” about the future of the relationship with Portuguese-speaking countries

14 January 2013

Countries such as Angola and Brazil have become “vital for the prosperity,” of China, which is expected to continue investing in a “determined and deliberate” way in its relationship with the Portuguese-speaking world, says researcher Loro Horta.

In his Masters thesis entitled “Relations between China and the Portuguese-speaking Countries: A Growing but Ignored Relationship,” for the US Naval Postgraduate School, Horta noted that the Portuguese-speaking world has been growing in importance for China in terms of energy security and markets, reaching a “vital” level in the cases of Brazil and Angola.

As such, China will continue to invest in the relationship in a deliberate and determined manner,” said the researcher in his thesis, which he defended in Monterrey, California, in September 2012.

The case of the Portuguese-speaking world, he says, “stands testimony to the growing sophistication of Chinese foreign and economic policy and challenges simplistic explanations of China’s presence in the developing world.”

Trade between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries from January to November rose 9.7 percent year on year to US$117.7 billion, according to official figures published recently by the Chinese customs service.

In the period, China imported goods from the eight Portuguese-speaking countries worth US$80.5 billion (a rise of 11.86 percent) and exported goods worth US$37.1 billion (+5.31 percent).

Brazil remained as China’s main Portuguese-speaking trading partner, and trade between the two countries rose by 0.66 percent to US$78.1 billion against 2011.

Trade between China and Angola rose 37.73 percent in the period to US$34.57 billion, with sales to China of US$30.87 billion, or 36.73 percent more year on year, and Chinese exports to Angola of US$3.7 billion, or 46.72 percent more year on year.

In his study, Horta notes that the relationship with Brazil is now one of the most important for China and that, despite “tension” it is expected to continue to expand based on pragmatism.

In Angola’s case China’s interest is focused on natural resources, particularly oil, and involves close ties with the political elite rather than creating a large number of jobs. However, the success of Chinese business in Cape Verde, a democratic country that lacks resources, is based on an opposite approach.

“Chinese businesses are able to adapt to numerous circumstances and show an often misunderstood sophistication,” says the researcher.

In Mozambique investments are also creating an increasing number of local jobs, following initial resentment and a rise in Labour costs in China.

Portuguese-speaking Africa, he says, demonstrates that Chinese investment goes beyond extracting resources, including tourism, agriculture and banking, “challenging many of the initial prejudices about China in Africa,” because of its diversity.

It is also “evident” in these cases that China “has a long term approach to its relationship with the Portuguese-speaking world and that its diplomats and businesspeople are very patient and persistent.”

Loro Horta is originally from East Timor and a graduate of the University of National Defence of the People’s Liberation Army (China), and he lived in Mozambique for many years. He currently works with several research centres all over the world. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH