中国资本投资在葡语国家有业务的葡萄牙公司

2010年11月15日

葡萄牙里斯本11月15日电-在中国国家主席胡锦涛访问葡萄牙之后,中国资本已经选择那些在葡语国家(如安哥拉与巴西)有重要业务的葡萄牙的银行和公司进行一波投资。

据葡萄牙报纸《经济日报》主管安东尼奥·科斯塔称,中方宣布在葡萄牙商业银行、葡萄牙投资银行与葡萄牙电力公司的投资,并不是因为葡萄牙市场规模或葡萄牙经济的活力,而是这些大公司与巴西和安哥拉重要商业合作伙伴的特殊关系。

他在上周的社论中说,这些投资可以解释为“几乎完全是葡萄牙、在非洲和巴西投资的葡萄牙公司的立场和谈判能力,非洲和巴西是中国希望扎根的两个市场。”

科斯塔说,“葡萄牙电力公司和葡萄牙商业银行是葡萄牙的两家大公司,且已经进入非洲,安哥拉非洲最重要的市场,然后是巴西。 我们还可以看看,葡萄牙石油和天然气公司(高浦公司)是不是会成为中国的另一个目标”。

葡萄牙电力公司在巴西有一个重要的子公司,葡萄牙商业银行在莫桑比克有重要业务,葡萄牙投资银行控制着安哥拉最大的私营银行:安哥拉发展银行。

据科斯塔称,北京突然之间对葡萄牙感兴趣,“好像葡萄牙不再是一个外围国家,而再次变成了世界的中心,这是因为中国这个巨大的经济体需要符合其利益的盟友,来实施其政治和外交计划”。

据分析师Miguel Monjardino称,中国计划促进与欧洲经济一体化,这也是其目前战略的重要组成部分。

Monjardino上周说,北京在欧洲金融和工业领域的存在变得日益明显。 中国国家主席胡锦涛访问葡萄牙显示出,葡萄牙将成为中国政策的一部分。 目前中国已经开始投资葡萄牙大型国有公司。

中国国家主席胡锦涛在里斯本表示了他对葡萄牙的支持,他说,中国愿意通过具体的措施支持葡萄牙应对国际金融危机的冲击。

北京还计划鼓励有实力的公司到葡萄牙运作,并欢迎葡萄牙公司进入中国市场,让越来越多有竞争力的葡萄牙集团进入中国市场。

中国国家主席胡锦涛还希望中国与葡萄牙的贸易额到2015年翻一番。

访问期间,葡萄牙商业银行和葡萄牙投资银行分别与中国工商银行和中国银行签署了商业合作协议,着眼于让葡萄牙集团便于吸引中国金融市场的投资和资本。

中国工商银行有可能在中期收购葡萄牙商业银行的股份,葡萄牙媒体报道,葡萄牙投资银行与中国银行的谈判会更晚一些。

中国电力国际还宣布有兴趣成为葡萄牙电力公司的股东,葡萄牙电讯集团已经与华为签署了一份协议,以促进两国之间现有的合作,特别是供应和开发光纤解决方案。

(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Chinese capital invested in Portuguese companies with presence in Portuguese-speaking countries

15 November 2010

Lisbon, Portugal, 15 Nov – Portuguese banks and companies with significant interests in countries such as Angola and Brazil have been chosen by Chinese capital for a wave of investments, following the visit to Portugal by President Hu Jintao.

According to the director of Portuguese newspaper Diário Económico, António Costa, ´the announced investments in Millennium bcp, Banco BPI and EDP – Energias de Portugal are not explained by the size of the Portuguese market or the dynamism of its economy, but rather by the privileged relationship of its biggest companies with important commercial partners such as Brazil and Angola.

The investment, he wrote last week in a editorial, is explained “almost exclusively by the position and negotiating capacity of Portugal and the Portuguese companies in Africa and in Brazil, two markets in which China is positioning itself.”

“Note the cases of EDP and BCP, two of the biggest national companies that are already in Africa, and here Angola is the most significant market, and in Brazil. And lets also look at whether Galp Energia will not be another target for the Chinese,” Costa said.

EDP has an important subsidiary in Brazil, Millennium bcp has a significant operation in Mozambique and the BPI bank controls the largest private Angolan bank, Banco de Fomento de Angola (BFA).

According to Costa, with Beijing’s interest, “Portugal stops being, almost by magic, a peripheral country and is once again the centre of the world for a China that is gigantic from an economic point of view,” and needs a “relevant ally for its interests,” included in its political and diplomatic plans.

According to analyst Miguel Monjardino, China plans, “above all to boost its options for economic integration into Europe,” a “significant part of its current strategy.”

“Beijing’s presence in Europe’s financial and industrial sectors is becoming increasingly visible. Hu Jintao’s visit to Portugal shows that Portugal will become part of this Chinese policy. Investments in benchmark national companies are on their way,” the analyst wrote last week.

In Lisbon, President Hu Jintao showed his support for Portugal saying that China was, “willing to support, via concrete measures, Portuguese efforts to deal with the impact of the international financial crisis.”

Beijing also plans to “encourage competitive companies to operate in Portugal,” and “welcomes Portuguese companies to compete in the Chinese market, so that an increasing number of competitive Portuguese groups can enter the Chinese market.”

Hu Jintao also set out the aim of doubling trade between China and Portugal by 2015.

During the visit, Millennium bcp and Banco BPI signed commercial cooperation agreements with Chinese counterparts, respectively the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China and the Bank of China, with a view to making it easier to attract financing and capital in the Chinese financial market by the Portuguese groups.

The relationships, in the mid term, are likely to involve the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China taking a stake in BCP, whilst the Portuguese press reported that negotiations between BPI and the Bank of China were more delayed.

China Power International (CPI) also announced its interest in becoming a shareholder of EDP whilst Portugal Telecom signed an agreement with Huawei Technologies boosting an existing partnership between the two countries, particularly in the supply and development of fibre optic solutions. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH