莫桑比克尼亚萨省煤储量可能与太特省一样大

2011年09月12日

英国伦敦9月12日电-英国《经济学人》智库(EIU)称,莫桑比克西北部尼亚萨省煤炭储量可能与邻省太特省一样大,而后者被视为世界最大煤矿。

“莫桑比克可能很快会发现一个新煤矿区。迄今为止,所有煤矿开采活动都是在太特省进行的,”《经济学人》智库关于莫桑比克的最新报告称。

《经济学人》智库分析师援引莫桑比克官员的话说,勘探结果显示,尼亚萨省马尼安巴行政区可能有“蕴藏量巨大”的新煤矿,“规模与太特省的煤矿相当。”

目前,有7家公司在马尼安巴行政区开展探矿活动,包括该国两家最大的煤炭生产公司:巴西淡水河谷公司主澳大利亚Riversdale矿业公司。

未来两年,将可确定新煤矿区的商业开采可行性。

《经济学人》智库称,淡水河谷公司将很快完成楠普拉省莫纳波磷矿的可行性研究报告,该公司计划于明年初正式向莫桑比克相关部门提交该报告。

英智库分析师称,“莫桑比克的矿业投资将持续增长,特别是煤矿投资,巨额矿业投资将使莫桑比克成为世界级煤炭生产大 国。”

莫桑比克国家矿业主管爱德华多·亚历山大最近表示,未来三年内的煤炭出口将让矿业在GDP中的比重翻一番,从目前的3%增长到7%。

莫桑比克矿业包括发电、重砂、煤和其它资源,其中,太特省莫阿蒂泽煤矿是全世界最大的煤矿。

爱尔兰肯梅尔矿业公司的莫马矿已经开始运营,澳大利亚Riversdale矿业公司的本戈煤矿也将于今年年底启动生产。

这主要是因为增加了采矿和基础设施项目投资,《经济学人》智库预计,2011年至2012年期间,莫桑比克年均经济增长率将为7.4%,明年的通货膨胀率将降至5%。

为了适应煤炭出口不断增长的需求,马普托港口管理公司最近公布了一项港口扩建计划,马托拉煤炭码头经营公司:南非船运公司(Grindrod)很快将完成一项可行性研究,计划在2014年前把该码头的容量提高一倍,达到每年2000万吨。

《经济学人》智库的报告称,印度、中国、俄罗斯等国的公司对于莫桑比克的煤矿非常感兴趣,莫桑比克当局已经表示将在今年年底之前发放五份新采矿牌照。

(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Coal reserves in Niassa province, Mozambique, may be as big as those in Tete

12 September 2011

London, United Kingdom, 12 Sept – Coal reserves in Niassa province, in northwest Mozambique, may be as big as those in the neighbouring province of Tete, which are considered to be the largest n the world, according to the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU).

“Mozambique may be on the brink of discovering a new area of coal deposits. So far, all mining activities have been in Tete province,” said the EIU in its latest report on Mozambique.

Citing Mozambican officials, the EIU analysts said that the exploration work indicated the possibility of “enormous” new deposits in Maniamba district, in Niassa, “which could rival in size those in Tete.”

There are currently seven companies carrying out prospecting work in Maniamba, including the country’s two largest coal producers, Brazil’s Vale and Australia’s Riversdale Mining.

Over the next two years, it will be possible to confirm with clarity the feasibility of commercial mining of the reserves.

Also according to the EIU, Vale is close to concluding a feasibility study for a phosphate mine in Monapo, Nampula province, which it plans to formally submit to the Mozambican authorities at the beginning of next year.

“Mozambique continues to see expansion of mining investment, particularly in coal, in which a number of large investments are on the brink of transforming the country into a large international producer,” said the British analysts.

Mozambique’s National Director for Mines, Eduardo Alexandre, recently said that coal exports will more than double the contribution of the mining sector to Mozambique’s gross domestic product (GDP) in the next three years, rising from 3 percent at the moment to 7 percent.

The mining sector in Mozambique includes production of electricity, heavy sands and other resources such as coal, reserves of which in Moatize, Tete province, are considered to be the largest in the world.

The Moma mine, owned by Ireland’s Kenmare Resources is already operating, and, at the end of the year, production at the Benga coal mine, owned by Australia’s Riversdale Mining, is also due to begin.

Largely because of increasing investment in mining and infrastructure projects, the EIU projects average economic growth of 7.4 percent per year for the Mozambican economy in 2011 and 2012, with inflation dropping to 5 percent next year.

In order to accommodate increased coal exports the port of Maputo recently announced an expansion programme and the operator of the Matola coal terminal, south Africa’s Grindrod, is concluding a feasibility study to more than double capacity by 2014, to 20 million tons per year.

The coal sector is of particular interest to companies from India, China and Russia and the Mozambican authorities have already said that five new mining concessions would be granted by the end of the year, according to the EIU report. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH