东帝汶电讯市场引入竞争 料服务费用下调覆盖扩大

2013年01月02日

东帝汶准备于2013年首季开放电信市场,料将带来国内服务费用的下调、电信基建的扩充。

自2002年起,东帝汶只有一家电信服务运营商——东帝汶电信。一直以来,国内电信和互联网服务除费用偏高外,由于覆盖有限,一般公众也不易取得服务。一般相信这种局面会拖慢经济增长。在新一年头几个月内,情况将会改变。

世界银行(“世银”)现正支持东帝汶的市场开放过程。据该行估算,引入两家新的运营商——Digicel太平洋有限公司(“Digicel”)和印尼国际PT电信(“Telin”)后,电信服务的覆盖率可提升至人口的90%。

世银上周发布上述有关电信领域的研究报告。报告称:“预期服务将变得更多样,且大部分人口都能负担。”

东帝汶于2001年进行独立公投,之后发生了暴力冲突。大部分电缆在冲突中被破坏,国内通信很大程度依赖移动电信网络。

然而,只有一半人口有移动电话可用,其中约三分之二居于首都帝力。

世银称:“由于成本高昂或根本没有服务,大部分居于乡郊的人口生活于电信网络以外。”

把移动通信带到国家内陆,使在那里开办新业务、信息更好地流通,成为可能,这意味着内陆商业市场的开放。

目前,透过固网(256 kbps)上网的成本,估计为每月900美元,高速无限上网则为每月6,000美元。即使按发达国家的标准,这个收费水平也属偏高。

高收费除反映国际卫星宽带的成本外,也是市场垄断的结果。

政府推行的通信领域改革,包括成立独立监管机构——国家通信局,其主要职责是:在国内电信业务潜力较低(商业上较难存活)的地区,开发一套全民普及的通信网络;制定竞争规则,确保电信商合规运营。

东帝汶政府于2012年夏宣布,将向Digicel和Telin发出首批电信牌照。Digicel承诺于四个月内,推出移动GSM和高速3G互联网网络,可覆盖超过91%人口;而Telin则保证于六个月内推出服务,承诺以移动GSM和高速3G互联网网络,覆盖94%人口。

未能在这次招标中标的运营商,包括印尼的PT Gapura Caraka Kencana和越南的Viettel环球投资联合股份公司。

除通信基建外,东帝汶政府还宣布了在未来五年,新建、复修基础设施的计划,涵盖公路、桥梁、机场、学校、医院,以及电力网络。

东帝汶总理夏纳纳·古斯芒在向国民议会作第二任政府工作规划报告时,作上述宣布。他说,大规模的计划“旨在复修、改善和建设一些让人民可通往健康、通往教育、通往市场、通往工商业的通衢大道。”(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Competition in East Timor’s telecoms sector expected to drive down costs and boost coverage

2 January 2013

Timor-Leste (East Timor) is preparing to liberalise its telecommunications market in the first quarter of 2013, which is expected to drive prices down and expand the country’s telecommunications infrastructure.

East Timor, which since 2002 has had a single telecoms operator, Timor Telecom, has comparatively high telecommunications and Internet costs and limited coverage for most of the population. These factors, which are considered to be an obstacle to economic growth, are due to be changed in the first few months of the year.

According to estimates from the World Bank, which is supporting the liberalisation process, opening up the market to two new operators (Digicel and Telin) will expand coverage of the population to 90 percent.

“Services are expected to become more varied and affordable to most of the population,” the World Bank said in a statement on the sector issued last week.

The country largely depends on mobile telecommunications as most cables were destroyed in the conflicts that followed the referendum on Timorese independence in 2001.

However, only half of the population has access to mobile phones and around two thirds of these people live in the country’s capital, Dili.

“The vast majority of people living in rural areas are not linked up due to high costs and a lack of service,” said the World Bank.

Taking mobile communications to the interior of the country also means opening it up to the markets, as it makes it possible to set up new businesses and better circulation of information.

The current cost of fixed line (256 kbps) Internet access is estimated at US$900 per month and US$6000 per month for a high speed unlimited service. These figures are high even by the standards of more developed countries.

The prices reflect the cost of bandwidth on international satellites, but are also due to the monopoly on the market.

Sector reforms implemented by the government also include creating an independent regulator – the National Communications Authority – which will be charged with developing a programme to support universal access to areas that are less commercially viable and to ensure compliance with competition rules.

In the summer of 2012 the Timor government announced it would grant the first new telecommunications licenses to Digicel Pacific Limited (Digicel) and PT Telekomunikasi Indonesia International (Telin).

Digicel committed to launching a mobile GSM and high speed 3G Internet networks that would provide access to over 91 percent of the population within four months.

Telin pledged to launch its services within six months and committed to reaching 94 percent of the population with its mobile GSM network as well as providing high speed 3G Internet access.

The companies that were not granted a license in the tender were PT Gapura Caraka Kencana (Indonesia) and Viettel Global Investment Joint Stock Company (Vietnam).

Alongside this, the Timor government announced a programme to build and repair infrastructure, including roads, bridges, airports, schools, hospitals and power and communication networks, will be carried out over the next five years.

During the presentation in parliament of the Government Programme for his second term, Prime Minister Xanana Gusmão said that the large-scale programme, “aims to repair, improve or build a number of facilities that are fundamental to allow access to health, to schools, to markets, to industries, and to businesses.” (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH