东帝汶冀获天然气管铺设权 并计划建储气基地

2012年07月02日

东帝汶政府相信,该国南岸最适合选作来自Greater Sunrise气田输气管的终点,且相信最终可落实。东帝汶与澳大利亚共享Greater Sunrise气田。

东帝汶自然资源国务秘书Alfredo Pires告诉澳门经贸咨询网(“Macauhub”):“我们已进行几个可行性研究,结果显示,通往东帝汶的气管将耗资10亿美元,若通往澳大利亚则需18亿美元。”

东帝汶还计划在南部兴建占地1,000公顷的供应基地,“未来十到十五年将创造4万个职位”。

该国务秘书称:“澳大利亚已经拥有一条输气管,这次输气管往我国铺设,既公平又合理,金钱方面没有输家。我们正就此事洽商,并进行比较研究。”

据国务秘书称,澳大利亚提出若干对东帝汶不利的建议,已为政府提交的研究结果所否定。

就距离而言,国务秘书说,输气管将伸延150公里抵达东帝汶海岸(若绕国地质复杂的地区,则为230公里);铺设往澳大利亚海岸则超过530公里。

国务秘书补充:“我们已经绘制南部海岸地图、选定气管走线。我们海岸深达2,800米,如果辅以最新技术,水深最高可达3,300米。我们已完成有关可行性研究。”

在今年5月东帝汶独立10周年纪念典礼上,政府选择在政府办公大楼前,展示上述输气管的模型。

“我们买了一小节(输气管),‘就摆在眼前’,以表达我们的立场、展示所用的技术,以及向国民表明我们正在追求什么。我们一直受压,现在该我们向对方施压。我们已经准备好。”

据国务秘书Pires称,今年4月底,国家石油基金余额为105.4亿美元。要善用这笔资金,

输气管是一项“理想的投资”。

Pires 指出:“投资于输气管,每年可稳得7到8%回报,为时40年。我能说的是:东帝汶投资进去,技术上、商业上均可行。我们正与对方洽谈,但对我们来说,别无他途。”

东帝汶未来几年的大项目之一,是在Tacimane地区,建设一个支援南部海岸能源勘探的基地。

该供应基地参考其他产油国采用的模式,将设于Suai、Betano和Beaco区。

国务秘书解释:“Suai将用作产油活动的后勤支援基地;Betano预留给石油化工业;Viqueque和Beaco将会是Greater Sunrise气田管道的落脚点。这三点分布在沿海160公里海岸。”

他说:“国民议会已为项目本身及配套的高速公路建设,分别批出1亿美元和4,500万美元。现在,我们要向国民沟通,并正按需征地。”(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

East Timor wants gas pipeline and plans to build supply base

2 July 2012

The East Timor government believes that the choice of the south coast of the country for the new gas pipeline running from the Greater Sunrise field, which it shares with Australia, will prevail.

The Secretary of State for Natural Resources, Alfredo Pires told Macauhub that that, “several feasibility studies have been carried out,” and that, “the results show that the gas pipeline to East Timor costs US$1 billion and to Australia it costs US$1.8 billion.”

The aim is also to build a 1000-hectare supply base in the south of the country, which, “in ten or 15 years will create 40,000 jobs.”

“Australia already has a gas pipeline and it makes sense to us and is fair that now we should get this one. Nobody would lose money. We are discussing this matter and carrying out comparative studies,” said Pires.

The Secretary of State gave assurances that the issues raised by Australia, which could be a problem for the East Timor option, have already been refuted by the studies put forward by the Government.

In terms of distance, Pires said that the pipeline would extend over 150 kilometres to the East Timor coast [230 if more geologically troublesome areas are avoided] and over 530 kilometres to the Australian coast.

“We have the south coast mapped out and we have chosen a route for the gas pipeline. We have depths of 2,800 metres and the maximum could be 3,300 metres, with current technologies. We have done those feasibility studies,” the Secretary of State said.

In May at the celebration of 10 years of the country’s independence the Timorese government decided to present a small sample of the pipeline that it hopes to bring to the south of the country – and it did so in front of the Government Palace.

“We brought a small piece and said ‘it’s here’ to confirm our position, show the technology and also to show the people what we are talking about. We have always been under pressure and now it is our turn to put pressure on the other side. We’re ready.”

According to Pires this is the “ideal investment,” to apply the capital accumulated in the Oil Fund – the balance of the fund in April of this year was US$10.54 billion.

“An investment in the gas pipeline has a fixed return of 7 to 8 percent over 40 years. What I can say is that the option of East Timor is technically and commercially viable. We are in discussions but for us there is no other way,” he noted.

One of Timor’s big projects for the next few years is construction of a base to support energy exploration on the south coast of the country, in the area known as Tacimane.

The supply base – a model used in other oil producing countries – would be in the districts of Suai, Betano and Beaco.

“Suai will be the logistical support base for oil activities, Betano will be for the petrochemical industry, Viqueque and Beaco is where the Greater Sunrise gas pipeline will be. These are three points along a distance of 160 kilometres,” Pires explained.

“For the supply base, Parliament ahs already approved US$100 million and US$45 million for the highway. We are now talking with the population, and we are buying the land as needed,” Pires added. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH