安哥拉的经济项目可能会最大限度地发挥中国援建交通系统的影响

2011年01月24日

中国澳门1月24日电-据经合组织、非洲发展新伙伴计划与联合国开展的一份研究,安哥拉可能通过发展特定领域的经济项目来最大限度地发挥中国援建交通系统的影响,而且应当寻求与中国公司的“可持续的合作关系”。

此研究的题目为:非洲经济多元化,安哥拉是涉及的其中一个国家。研究的作者称,安哥拉是中国依照“安哥拉模式”援建非洲基础设施项目的四大受益国之一,此模式也在其它国家得到复制。

此研究由联合国、非洲发展新伙伴计划、经合组织共同开展。研究称,安哥拉的资源正在维系着安哥拉与巴西、美国、中国、以及葡萄牙的经济关系。葡萄牙仍是安哥拉最大的贸易伙伴。

如果能确保这些合作服务于安哥拉的发展,安哥拉可以受益于这些合作关系。 安哥拉可以发展一些战略,把经济项目与中国正在援建的运输系统连接起来。

此研究称,最大限度地发挥这些交通系统的另一个办法是与在该国做生意的中国公司建立可持续发展的合作关系,正如民主刚果在加丹加省所做的尝试一样。

此文件称,尽管安哥拉已经通过与中国的关系取得了一些进展,安哥拉还可以做更多事情以增加对其经济的利益,特别是“通过经济多元化。”

据该研究,在最近的经济危机中,石油价格下降严肃影响了该国,这表明需要发展减少对能源业依赖的政策。

Sonangol在支持经济多元化和金融业方面发挥了巨大的潜力,该公司更像是一个主权基金。

2004年,中国向安哥拉提供了20亿美元的优惠贷款,用于发展该国内战期间摧毁的基础设施,作为交换条件,罗安达每天向北京提供1万桶原油。

目前,在中国从撒哈拉沙漠以南非洲进口的石油中,安哥拉占一半多。

依照“安哥拉模式”的条款,接受中国进出口银行贴息贷款的国家,(利率从1%至6%,可延长期限和不付款周期),政府需要与一家公司签约(通常是中国公司)来建设基础设施项目,同时向向一家中国公司提供开采自然资源的权利,以便偿还贷款。

这些资金一直用于电气化项目、铁路、公路、电信、饮用水和公共卫生等领域。

除了使用基础设施以外,即运输走廊“改善贸易和扩大经济活动”以外,虽然安哥拉正在用创新的方式使用其自然资源开展国家重建,但是一直是缺少改善运输系统的大型活动,如农村地区的二级公路和可再生能源项目。

此研究指出,除了能源资源以外,安哥拉在矿业和木材领域也有“巨大潜力”,虽然安哥拉政府迫切需要改善其规章制度并保证公共管理有能力支持这些活动。

(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Economic projects in Angola may maximise impact of transport systems built by China

24 January 2011
Malanje railway station

Macau, China, 24 Jan – Angola may maximise the impact of the transport systems built by China by developing economic projects for specific areas and should seek out “sustainable partnerships,” with the Chinese companies, according to a study by the OECD,  NEPAD and the UN.

Angola was one of the countries analysed in the study entitled, “Economic Diversification in Africa,” whose writers concluded that the country was one of the top four beneficiaries of Chinese funding for infrastructure projects, under the terms of the so-called, “Angola Model,” which was replicated in other countries.

Angolan resources are “feeding the economic ties with Brazil, the United States and china,” as well as of Portugal, which remains the country’s biggest trading partner, said the study by the UN, the New Economic partnership for African Development (NEPAD) and the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

“Angola could benefit from these partnerships if makes certain that they serve its development interests. It can develop strategies that link economic projects to transport system that are being built by China,” it said.

Another way of maximizing the impact of these systems is to create, “sustainable partnerships,” with Chinese companies doing business in the country, as the Democratic Republic of Congo is trying to do in Katanga province the study said.

Despite the “headway made through relations with China,” the document said, Angola could do more to increase the benefits for its economy, especially, “through greater diversification.”

The recent economic crisis, when the drop in the price of oil had serious repercussions in the country, shows the need to move ahead with this policy of reducing dependence on the energy sector, according to the study.

“Tremendous potential” to support diversification and the financial sector comes from the activities of Sonangol, which are “very similar to a sovereign fund.”

In 2004, China provided Angola with a credit line of US$2 billion for development of the infrastructure destroyed during the country’s civil war, whilst Luanda provides 10,000 barrels of crude oil per day to Beijing.

Angola currently provides over half of China’s oil imports from sub-Saharan Africa.

Under the terms of the “Angola model,” the country receives a subsidised loan from China’s EximBank, (interest rate from 1 to 6 percent, extended maturity and non-payment periods), the government contracts a company – usually from china – for the infrastructure project, whilst it provides rights for extracting natural resources to a Chinese company in order to pay off the loan.

The funding has been directed to electrification projects, railroads, roads, telecommunications, water and sanitation,, amongst other areas.

Although Angola “is making innovative use of its natural resources,” for reconstruction, there has been “a lack of big initiatives to improve the transport system, such as secondary roads in rural areas and renewable energy projects,” beyond making use of infrastructure, namely transport corridors to “improve trade and expand economic activities.”

The UN/NEPAD/OECD study noted that, as well as energy resources, Angola has “enormous potential,” in the mining and wood sectors, although the government urgently needs to improve its regulatory framework and ensure that public administration has the capacity to support these activities. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH