安哥拉小型项目获中国资金支持

2016年03月21日

《经济学人》智库(EIU)相关报告指出,随着安哥拉税收下降,来自中国、面向小型关键项目的援助资金更形重要。这些项目不少正在落实。

根据安哥拉财政部发布的资料,总额达60亿美元的上述援助中,53亿将用于支持全国155个项目,包括北宽扎省的一个水电项目、新公路、工业中心、供水供电和农业灌溉,以及医院、健康中心、学校和大学等社会设施。

上述援助反映了经援模式的转变——过去中国对安援助仅集中在诸如公路、铁路、体育馆或机场等大型工程项目。EIU形容大型工程有助塑造中国援助的“能见度”。

EIU称:“在国际油价下挫,导致公共投资受挤压的背景下,引导中国资金流向属公共投资规划一部分的关键小型基建项目,是善用资金。”

EIU预测2016年经济增长率为1.1%,不及去年增长率的一半,但明年应可加速至3.5%、2018年升至3.8%。

据路透社报道,中国迄今对安哥拉经援的总额约达250亿美元。

一如此前的中国经援,新援助支持的项目,均将发放予驻安中资企业,但采购准则有若干改变,以提高本地企业和劳动力的参与程度。

此外又规定,批出项目中,至少要有20%留给安哥拉企业;可能范围内要用安国本地建筑材料。这些安排有利为本地创造财富、保障本地就业(政府估计新创职位约36.5万个)。

EIU称:“合约制定过程更开放、追求最佳价值和质量,是正面的信号。新规例强调要提供更透明的建议书;3月安排了一个商业论坛,探讨私营部门合作的新领域等,反映了安哥拉和中国经济关系更趋成熟。”

EIU的分析师预测,中国把自己定位为(非洲国家的)主要经济伙伴,安哥拉将继续把安中关系放在靠前位置。

据《安哥拉日报》报道,私营部门论坛上周在北京举行,出席论坛的有安哥拉私人投资局(UNIP)、安哥拉投资出口促进局(Apiex)的领导,以及约3,000名潜在投资者。

新法旨在引导投资资金流向有利安哥拉经济多元发展。根据该法,超过100万欧元的投资可享税务优惠。

论坛上介绍的数字显示,2009年投向制造业的资金占总投资的45%,2015年则下跌至32%;其中,一如过往,罗安达省吸纳投资占总额约三分之二,其余依次是本格拉省(占7%)、南宽扎省6%。(macauhub/AO/CN)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Funding from China supports smaller projects

21 March 2016

With the downturn in tax revenue, funding from China has become even more important to Angola and is being implemented in smaller key projects better suited to local needs, according to the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU).

Of the US$6 billion in Chinese funding provided, according to information released by the Angolan Ministry of Finance, 5.3 billion will be used to finance 155 public projects across the country, including a dam in Kwanza Norte province, new roads and industrial centres, as well as social facilities such as hospitals, medical centres, schools, universities, water, electricity and irrigation networks.

These options represent a change from past financing packages, focused mainly on large projects such as roads, railways, stadiums or airports, which, according to the EIU report on Angola have mainly led to “visibility. ”

“To target these Chinese funds to smaller critical infrastructure projects that are part of the public investment programme is a wise use of money, at a time when public investment is being crushed by the low price of oil,” said the EIU .

EIU forecasts point to economic growth of 1.1 percent in 2016, less than half the figure for last year, but that should accelerate to 3.5 percent next year and 3.8 percent in 2018.

According to the Reuters news agency, Chinese financing to Angola so far totals around US$25 billion.

The projects funded by the new package will be awarded to Chinese companies, as in previous funding packages, but some changes were made to the procurement rules to increase involvement of local businesses and workforce.

At least 20 percent of the work must be subcontracted to Angolan companies and local building materials should be used whenever possible, which should result in greater local wealth creation and employment, which the government estimates at 365,000 jobs .

“A more open approach in contracts and a focus on best value and quality is a positive sign. The emphasis on presenting more transparent proposals and a business forum in March, to identify new areas of private sector cooperation, reflect a greater maturity in the economic relationship between Angola and China,” said the EIU.

The analysts’ forecast is that Angola will continue to give priority to its relations with China, which has established itself as a major economic partner.

The private sector forum was held last week in Beijing, attended by leaders of the Technical Unit for Private Investment (UTIP) and the Angolan Agency for Investment and Export Promotion (Apiex), plus about 3,000 potential investors, according to newspaper Jornal de Angola.

The new law, which aims to channel investments into diversifying the Angolan economy has tax benefits for investments of over 1 million euros.

Figures presented at the conference indicate that the share of manufacturing in total investments fell from 45 percent in 2009 to 32 percent in 2015 and Luanda continues to receive about two-thirds of the investment, followed by Benguela (7 percent) and Kwanza Sul (6 percent). (macauhub/AO/CN)

MACAUHUB FRENCH