下一轮中非经济合作将聚焦人力资源

2016年08月15日

据布鲁金斯学会研究员David Dollar称,开采天然资源作为维持中国-非洲间经济合作的主要推动因素,其空间已渐趋狭小,下一波的合作将聚焦人力资源开发。

在布鲁金斯学会有关“中国深耕非洲:从自然资源到人力资源”的研究中, Dollar提出“非-中经济关系的基础正在转移”的看法,他说,经过一个中国从非洲进口原材料,同时向非洲输出工业产品的经济发展初始阶段,进行战略转移,“很合逻辑”。

Dollar称,初始阶段的“投资模式极可能慢慢转移,以适应人口结构的转变。中国劳动年龄人口已达峰值,未来数十年将逐渐萎缩”,导致更高工资,而国内经济最有动力的组成——国内消费——则不断上升。

Dollar的研究是基于中国投资和出口“动力逐渐消退”、房地产、制造业和基建产能过剩、对原材料的需求疲弱等情景而进行。

非洲的人口结构正朝与中国相反的方向发展,情况就与中国35年前经济改革之初,一半人口年龄不到20岁,预料工作人口的年龄在未来大约20年都会持续上升,要求整个非洲每年创造2,000万个工作岗位。

Dollar解释说:“非洲的人口结构变化既是机遇又是挑战。期望中-非经济关系一夜之间改变,并不现实;期望大量中国制造业产能于近期内都转移至非洲,也不合理(……)但即使仅有少量转移,也足以为非洲经济带来重大转变。”

由美国约翰霍普金斯大学“中非研究倡议”研究员Jyhjong Hwang、Deborah Brautigam和Janet Eom最近发表一项研究的初步结论,文章指出,2000至2014年间,中国(政府、银行和企业)向非洲发放的869亿美元贷款中,安哥拉获其中的212亿美元,占整体的23%。

中国开发银行是向安哥拉授信最多的中资银行,金额达113亿美元,其次是中国进出口银行(73.6亿美元),其余各行合共贷出25亿美元。

中国应与非洲政府合作,“鼓励中国企业聘用和培训工人”,同时限制外国工人流入。由于从外国聘请人员的成本越来越高,企业有很大的诱因聘请本地工人。

Dallars分析过中国商业部有关投资非洲的企业的资料后,发现大企业仍集中在天然资源的开采,中小企业则主要致力于制造业和服务业,认为这符合大部分非洲经济体的利益。

据新华社报道,7月下旬,中国与非洲企业在北京举行第二届“中非合作论坛(FOCAC)峰会”期间,共签署39份、总值170美元的协议。

峰会期间又举行了商务研讨会,有超过400名来自各国的政府机关、金融机构、商会和企业参加。

出席的包括莫桑比克外交合作部副部长Nyeleti Mondlane、几内亚比绍工务建设都市化部部长Malam Banjai,以及其他葡语国家代表。

上届(2015年)中非合作论坛峰会在南非约翰内斯堡举行,达成了其后三年中国与非洲国家之间10个合作计划,涉资约600亿美元。 (Macauhub/AO/CN/GW/MZ)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Human resources focus in next cycle of China/Africa economic cooperation

15 August 2016

The cycle of expansion based on raw materials, which has sustained growth of economic relations between China and African countries like Angola, is playing out and the next opportunity is in human resources, says researcher David Dollar.

In the Brookings Institution study on “China’s Engagement with Africa: from natural resources to human resources”, the US researcher holds that “the foundation for the Africa-China economic relationship is shifting,” after an in initial period where it was “logical” for the Chinese economy to import African raw materials while exporting back industrial products.

“These patterns of trade and investment are now likely to gradually shift in response to changing demographics. The working-age population in China has peaked and will shrink over the coming decades.” This has led to higher wages and rising domestic consumption, the economy’s most dynamic component, he says.

The model based on investment and exports is also “running out of steam” and there is excess production capacity in real property, manufacturing and infrastructures, whereby raw material demand should remain muted.

Dollar asserts that Africa’s demographics are heading in the opposite direction, with much resemblance to China before the economic reforms 35 years ago: half of the population is less than 20 years old, so the working-age population will increase in the next two decades, forcing the continent to create 20 million jobs per year.

“Africa’s demographics present both an opportunity and a challenge. It is unrealistic to expect the China-Africa economic relationship to change overnight. Nor would it be reasonable to expect large volumes of Chinese manufacturing to move to the continent in the near future (…) But if even small amounts of manufacturing shift, this could make a significant difference for African economies,” he explains.

Preliminary conclusions of a study by the China Africa Research Initiative of Johns Hopkins University in the US, recently presented by the researchers Jyhjong Hwang, Deborah Brautigam and Janet Eom, indicate that of the US$86.9 billion of Chinese lending to Africa between 2000 and 2014 (by Chinese government, banks and companies), Angola received US$21.2 billion or 23 percent of the total.

The China Development Bank was the institution that granted the most credit to Angola (US$11.3 billion), followed by the Export-Import Bank of China (US$7.36 billion) and others (US$2.5 billion).

China should work with African governments to “encourage Chinese firms to hire and train African workers and to limit the flow of labor” to those countries, because there is a greater incentive for companies to hire locally due to the rising cost of sending in expatriate workers, Dollar says.

After analysing the Chinese Commerce Ministry database on companies investing in Africa, he concludes that while the biggest companies focus on extracting natural resources, small and medium sized ones are above all dedicated to manufacturing and services, which meets the interests of many African economies.

In late July, 39 agreements between Chinese and African companies worth an estimated US$17 billion were signed in Beijing on the sidelines of a meeting held to assess the second China-Africa Forum (FOCAC) Summit, according to Xinhua news agency.

The business seminar likewise held during that meeting was attended by more than 400 participants from government agencies, financial institutions, business associations and companies.

Among those present were Mozambique’s Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Nyeleti Mondlane, and Guinea Bissau’s Minister of Public Works, Construction and Urbanism, Malam Banjai, among other representatives from the Portuguese language countries.

The December 2015 FOCAC Summit in Johannesburg resulted in ten cooperation plans between China and Africa in the next three years, worth an estimated US$60 billion. (Macauhub/AO/CN/GW/MZ)

MACAUHUB FRENCH