危机时期中国为葡萄牙公司提供了更多商机

2011年05月03日

葡萄牙里斯本5月2日电-亚洲大趋势研究所称,虽然经济仍在继续衰退,葡萄牙的财务状况日趋脆弱,葡萄牙公司却在中国发现了越来越多的商机,然而,他们应做好应对激烈竞争的准备。

亚洲大趋势研究所所长冯久玲建议,葡萄牙公司应“把赌注压在互联网业务和中等城市上,”中国将在这两方面获得更大的发展,“应重点关注尚未引起太多关注的地区”。

冯久玲告诉葡萄牙《经济生活报》:“主要城市的市场已经成熟。世界各大品牌正在争夺13亿中国人中10%到月底仍有钱花的群体。”

冯久玲在波尔图管理学院/波尔图大学商学院最近举办的“中国未来十年”研讨会上表示,虽然这是葡萄牙公司的“一个大好机会”,但葡萄牙公司应针对不同品牌或不同产品群制定不同的“价值战略”。

冯久玲说:“人们总是告诉企业家中国拥有13亿人口的市场,但却忘了说有大量的公司正在激烈争夺中国市场。 整个世界都在中国。”

官方数字显示,近几个月来,中葡两国之间的贸易呈现快速增长。

今年1月和2月,中葡贸易总额为5.9亿美元。中国对葡出口总值达4.6亿美元,增长36.2%。葡萄牙对华出口总值为1.3亿美元,增长37.1%。

虽然一些葡萄牙公司在中国获得了成功,特别是在中国澳门特区,但一些专家警告说,进入中国市场存在困难。

冯久玲表示,“现在,中国对葡萄牙的了解非常少”,因此,葡萄牙“必须对自己进行定位。”

她说:“葡萄牙公司应明确自己产品的独特之处在哪里,葡萄牙品牌为何独一无二,以及葡萄牙有哪些可能激发中国人兴趣和好奇心的产品。”

波尔图管理学院/波尔图大学商学院国际管理项目协调员安娜•特雷莎•莱曼表示,亚洲市场“仍未在葡萄牙,特别是其出口重地北方地区的国际贸易中占据重要地位,这说明了亚洲市场当前的经济重要性。”

莱曼指出,“人们对于这些潜在的贸易和投资目的地越来越感兴趣”,而且这些地区确实存在着“尚待发掘的巨大商机。”

她说,这一商机与“低成本产品”无关,需重点关注的应是“一些非常有趣的利基市场,”比如,纺织品/服装、奢侈鞋类、农产品与食品(包括葡萄酒)、机械和金属机械、工程和能源等。

“中国的一个利基市场相当于世界其他地区的一个大陆市场。”

(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

In a time of crisis China is increasingly an opportunity for Portuguese companies

3 May 2011

Lisbon, Portugal, 2 May – In the midst of an economic recession and the country’s fragile financial situation Portuguese companies increasingly see opportunities in China, but should be prepared for string competition, according to the Megatrends Asia research institute.

Foong Wai Fong, the institute’s director, advised Portuguese companies to “bet on the Internet and medium-sized cities,” to grow in China, “looking to the regions that have not yet come onto the radar.”

“The market of the main cities is already mature,” and, “all the biggest world brands are vying for around 10 percent of the 1.3 billion Chinese that get to the end of the month with money to spend,” the specialist told Portuguese newspaper Vida Económica.

Despite being “a big opportunity” for Portuguese companies, it is necessary to “develop a value strategy” for the different brands or groups of products,” Foong said on the sidelines of a seminar entitled, “China: The next 10 years,” recently organised by Escola de Gestão do Porto – University of Porto Business School (EGP-UPBS).

“What has been said to businesspeople is that China has a potential market of 1.3 billion people, but they forgot to say that there are also an equally large number of companies competing for the Chinese market. The whole world is there,” she said.

Trade between the two countries has seen rapid growth over the last few months, according to official figures.

In January and February Trade between Portugal and China totalled US$590 million, with China selling goods to Portugal totalling US$460 million (36.20 percent more) and buying goods worth US$130 million (37.1 percent more).

Despite several success stories of Portuguese companies in China, particularly in Macau, several specialists have warned of the difficulty in gaining access to the market.

According to Foong, “nowadays, the Chinese know very little about Portugal,” and thus the country, “will have to position itself.”

“Portuguese companies should ask what is so unique about their products, what is so special about Portuguese brands and what there is in Portugal that could arouse the interest and curiosity of the Chinese,” said the director of Megatrends Asia.

The coordinator of the Managing Internationally programme of EGP-UPBS, Ana Teresa Lehmann, noted that Asian markets, “still don’t have an importance in the international trade of Portugal and specifically the North, which is the main Portuguese export region, which reflects its current economic importance.”

Lehmann noted that there was, “growing interest in these potential trade and investment destinations,” and that there was “an enormous opportunity to be explored.”

This opportunity, she said, did not involve “low cost products,” but rather should focus on “very interesting niches,” specifically for textiles/clothing and luxury footwear, the agri-food sector (including wines), machinery and metal mechanics, engineering and energy.

“And a niche in China is like a continent in the rest of the World,” she noted. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH