莫桑比克:货币贬值但通胀受控

2016年01月19日

葡萄牙BPI银行估计,尽管莫国经济和财政持续强劲上扬,但近月增长势头有所放缓。当局遏止通胀上升的努力,可望取得成功。

BPI在其有关莫国经济的最新报告中称,莫国货币梅蒂卡尔的贬值(2015年跌幅约50%),正把通胀率推高(11月为5.7%),迫使莫桑比克银行(“莫央行”)采取更紧缩的货币政策,以保住此前为2016年订下的目标。

要稳住2016年的物价走势,就业采取新的措施,因为在莫国,进口商品消费物价指数的占比是60%,历史证明货币贬值能“剧烈”刺激通胀。

BPI的报告称,政府近年采取谨慎的宏观经济政策、保护梅蒂卡尔的措施(令汇率政策有回旋空间,以回复平衡),而最重要的是南非货币兰特的贬值,加起来都对莫当局驾驭宏观经济的努力,提供助力。

为预测2016年的通胀率,莫央行开列三种情境,并考虑三种币种(美元、欧元、兰特)的外债所涉汇率、涉及每种币种的外贸量(例如兰特占50%),以及梅蒂卡尔的实质贬值幅度(9.4%)比国际货币基金组织(IMF)估计的升值上限还低10%。

因此,BPI经济学家的结论是,通胀率仍将维持在双位数以下(按第三种情境,是5.6%;CPI的组成有60%为进口货),但也可能高于官方目标(5%或6%),并假定2016年采取更紧缩的货币政策,包括对外汇的需求。

有关梅蒂卡尔的贬值,2015年的外汇存底将由2015年的28.8亿美元跌至20亿美元,而“由于大型项目减少、外国捐款数字萎缩,以及外商直接投资下降”,未来对外收支势必恶化。

出口方面,据IMF的估计数字,主要的困难仍然是天然资源(包括两种对莫国格外重要的出口类别)的国际价格下降——金属价格平均下跌22%、农产品下降16%。其他诸如铝、煤和糖均经历不同程度的下降。

BPI称,“中国原材料消耗量在全球的占比非常高,中国经济现在进入‘新常态’,是国际原材料价格走低的其中一个原因;此外,世界市场供应过剩是另一个成因。”

天然气同样面对价格下降的问题。“莫桑比克主要燃气公司——Anadarko石油和ENI——仍然对旗下项目可以生存,充满信心”,穆迪评级的看法也一样。穆迪认为“项目的存活,将不会受价格走势影响”。

另一方面,《经济学人》智库(EIU)称,由于莫桑比克的天然气只有到了2020年才开始投向市场,相信产量到了2025年才会大增。

BPI的报告称,尽管莫桑比克面对新的挑战,评级机构“仍然正面预测莫国的增长率”——穆迪和标准普尔均预期2016年为7.5%,较IMF(6.5%)和政府(7%)的估计乐观。但各方均估计,2016-2017年度莫国的经济增速将加快。(macauhub/MZ)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Inflation in Mozambique under control despite devaluation of the metical

19 January 2016

The positive trend of economic and financial forecasts of Mozambique has declined in recent months, although growth remains strong, but the authorities’ efforts to control inflation should succeed, Portuguese bank Banco BPI has said.

The devaluation of the metical (about 50 percent in 2015), BPI said in its latest report on the Mozambican economy, is driving a rise in inflation (5.7 percent in November), forcing the Bank of Mozambique to implement a tighter monetary policy to achieve the 2015 target.

New measures will be needed to keep prices controlled in 2016, because the weight of imported goods in the Mozambican Consumer Price Index (CPI) is 60% and an exchange rate downturn has historically had a “sharp” effect on inflation.

The authorities’ efforts have been favoured by prudent macroeconomic policies in recent years, a recent overvaluation of the metical, which provides room for the foreign exchange policy to converge to a balance and, above all, the depreciation of the rand in South Africa, Mozambique’s main trading partner, BPI said.

To estimate the 2016 inflation rate, the bank outlined three scenarios and, considering the exchange rate of the three main currencies (dollar, euro and rand) and the weight of each in Mozambican trade (50 percent for the rand) the real devaluation of the metical (9.4 percent) is lower than the overvaluation (10 percent) that the IMF estimated for the currency.

Thus, the BPI economists concluded that inflation is expected to remain below double digits (5.6 percent in the third scenario, with a 60 percent weight of imported goods in the CPI), although it may be above the official target (5 to 6 percent) and assuming a more restrictive monetary policy in 2016, including demand for foreign currency.

In a context of depreciation of the metical, Mozambique’s international reserves fell in 2015 from US$2.88 billion to US$2 billion, while external accounts deteriorated, “based on reduced activity of major projects, falling donations and reduced foreign direct investment.”

In exports, the main difficulty remains the drop in raw material prices, which according to the IMF amounted to 22 percent for metals and 16 percent in agriculture, two especially important categories for Mozambique, a major exporter of aluminium, minerals extracted from heavy sands, coal and sugar.

“Given China’s high weight in global consumption of raw materials, the transition to the ‘new normal’ is one of the major driving forces behind lower prices in international markets. In addition, oversupply will be at the basis of the fall in raw material prices,” said BPI.

The same is true of natural gas, although “the main gas companies in Mozambique (Anadarko Petroleum and ENI) remain confident in the viability of their projects,” as does as Moody’s, which “considers that the project’s viability will not be affected and will remain flexible with respect to persistent low prices.”

On the other hand, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) has said it believes that natural gas production in significant quantities should only occur in 2025, as the market will be supplied until mid 2020.

“Although Mozambique faces new challenges,” said BPI, the credit rating agencies “continue to forecast favourable growth rates” of 7.5 percent in 2016, according to Moody’s and Standard & Poor’s, which is more optimistic than the IMF (6.5 percent) and the government (7 percent), although all agree that growth will speed up in 2016/17. (macauhub/MZ)

MACAUHUB FRENCH