莫桑比克经济受惠于中国援建基建项目

2016年01月04日

莫桑比克近月经济增长乏力,但预料中国在莫国两个主要城市开展一系列新工程,应可刺激后者的经济发展。

据新华社一项调查报道,继由中国援建、莫桑比克1975年独立后首个主要体育设施的Zimpeto体育馆落成后,人们的视线落在(Catembe)马普托大桥和位于莫桑比克第二大城市贝拉的新港口。

新华社就新项目进行的调查显示,马普托大桥将于2017年启用,除便利马普托海湾两岸交通外,还将打开马普托都市发展的空间,驱动Catembe地区“经济、商业和旅游大力向前发展”。

大桥长3公里,2014年起动工,耗资约3亿美元,是非洲最大规模的跨海大桥。

贝拉新港于2015年9月开工,由中国海港工程公司承建。该项目被视为重振莫桑比克渔业的锁钥,为整个生产流程服务,包括冷藏和加工品出口。

另一近期中莫合作的旗舰基建工程是(可连接Zimpeto体育馆的)马普托环路。项目由中国进出口银行提供资金、由中国路桥工程有限责任公司承建。后者也负责马普托大桥的设计工作。

中国进出口银行也为2012年完工的马普托国际机场新航站楼提供资金。

中国在莫桑比克主要外国伙伴中的地位逐步上升,分析师估计这趋势将越来越显著。

《经济学人》智库(EIU)称,来自中国的投资将支持强化中莫关系,预期中国仍将继续维持近年取得的地位——莫国建设的主要资金提供国。

EIU称,莫桑比克外交政策的焦点,是“与诸如中国、印度和巴西等新伙伴建立联系……长远而言,希望通过取得更多来自能源和矿产资源领域的投资收益,以减低外援的比重”。

诸如中国长江三峡集团和中国国家电网公司等中国国企在莫桑比克大型水电项目的权益,早已广为人知。

过去十年,莫桑比克经济以年均7.4%的速度增长,但根据Eaglestone证券顾问行的预测,由于国际大宗商品价格下跌,外商投资规模收缩,莫国未来数年的增长率将维持在低位。

莫国货币梅蒂卡尔在2015年的贬值(对美元汇价下跌58%),对该国经济带来新的压力(特别是必需品价格的上升),同时,偿还外债的压力上升、外援减少等,都造成外汇储备水平大受影响。(macauhub/CN/MZ)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Mozambique economy stimulated by infrastructure financed by China

4 January 2016

The economic forecasts for Mozambique have lost some lost some momentum in recent months, but a set of new projects funded by China in the county’s two major cities should stimulate growth.

After the inauguration of the Zimpeto Stadium, also funded by China and the first major sporting facility built in Mozambique after independence in 1975, attention was focused on the Catembe bridge in Maputo, and the new port of Beira, the second largest Mozambican city, according to a survey by news agency Xinhua.

The survey of new work carried out by the Chinese agency showed that the bridge, due to open in 2017, will open up new areas of Maputo to urban development, in addition to facilitating the connection between the two sides of the bay, driving a “substantial increase in economic development, business and tourism” of the Catembe region.

Under construction since 2014, the bridge, which is 3,000 metres long, is one of the largest of its kind in Africa, and is an investment estimated at US$300 million.

Construction of the new port of Beira began in September 2015, at the hands of the China Harbour Engineering Co. The port is seen as key to revitalise the country’s fishing industry and will serve the entire production chain, including refrigeration and export of processed products.

Another recent flagship infrastructure of Chinese cooperation in Mozambique is the Maputo Ring Road, which connects the Zimpeto stadium, built using funding from the Export-Import (ExIm) Bank of China by the China Road and Bridge Corporation, which is also responsible for the design of the Catembe bridge.

The ExIm Bank financing also allowed for completion in 2012 of the new Maputo International Airport terminal.

China has been gaining importance amongst Mozambique’s main foreign partners, with analysts projecting this trend to grow even stronger.

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) said that Chinese investment will support the strengthening of relations and that China is expected to remain as the major creditor of the Mozambican state, a status it achieved recently.

The focus of Mozambique’s foreign policy, said the same source, is “to connect to new partners” such as China, India and Brazil, “with the long-term goal of reducing the weight of external aid with more investment revenues in the energy and mines sectors.”

The interest from major Chinese state-owned enterprises, such as China Three Gorges and China State Grid, in Mozambique’s big hydroelectric projects has been widely publicised.

In the last decade Mozambique has grown at an annual average of 7.4 percent, but according to the Eaglestone Securities consultancy, in the coming years the pace is expected to slow due to the fall in commodity prices on international markets as well as lower foreign investment.

The devaluation of the metical (58 percent against the dollar in 2015) is creating new pressures on the economy, particularly increasing the price of basic goods, while foreign reserves have been affected by the increase in debt service and lower foreign aid, among other factors. (macauhub/CN/MZ)

MACAUHUB FRENCH