莫桑比克聚焦工业以创造21.6万职位

2013年01月28日

预期2013年莫桑比克将成为全球经济增长率最高国家之一,在这背景下,莫政府致力发展工业和农业加工业,目标是年内创造近21.6万就业岗位。

莫桑比克去年底通过的《2013经济社会工作规划》(“《规划》”),为今年宏观经济和社会发展制定了目标,冀巩固经济增长。今年经济仍主要由方兴未艾的资源开采业驱动(预期今年增长率为18.6%)。

预期金融业的增长率为17.7%,运输业则为14.1%(主要来自出口750万吨煤),但政府相信,房地产、旅游和工业,也将有强劲表现。

由于一如前几年,大规模种植的腰果、茶叶、糖、烟草等作物,皆持续增产,预期农业增长率将达4.6%。

根据《规划》,年内来自私营部门的投资,将达60亿美元,故预计今年新增的21.6万就业岗位中,有16.2万份由私营部门创造。60亿美元主要投放在农业加工业(制糖和生物燃料),部分用于兴建三座新的火力、水力发电厂、一座石油化工厂和一座水泥厂。

政府也有雄心大计,让《千年发展目标》中的卫生和教育部分,有重大进展。按规划,《千年发展目标》将于2015年完成。

《经济学人》智库(EIU)相信,要达成政府的就业岗位目标,“不太可能”,因为目前就业市场职位不多,而一向以来“投资项目落实缓慢”。不过,EIU认为整体而言,《规划》“在一般宏观经济方面的预测,相对现实”,比EIU的预测稍为“乐观”。

EIU称,最大的风险是,资源开采业给予人们改善生活条件的期望较大,估计将会落空,这将造成群众不满、社会不安。

政府预测今年增长率为8.4%、通胀率为7.5%,与国际货币基金组织(IMF)的预测(增长率8.4%、通胀率7%)基本一致,而与EIU的(增长率8%、通胀率5.5%)有一段距离。

EIU在其关于莫桑比克的最新报告中称:“对环球经济和贸易增长的较低预期,以及全球商品需求不明朗,促使我们的预测比较保守。”

EIU称,去年莫桑比克的经济表现“突出”,尽管环球经济疲弱,该国仍录得7.4%增长。

莫国国家预算中,依赖外国援助的程度,将持续减少,外援占预算的比重,将由此前的40%,下降至今年的32%,但仍属偏高。

尽管诸如荷兰和西班牙等国已减少对莫国的援助,中国和印度等“新伙伴”正透过贷款,弥补传统外援的减少。

来自自然资源(特别是煤)开采的税收,也大幅上升。预期Rovuma盆地的天然气田,将于2018年开始投产,从而进一步贡献税收。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Mozambique focuses on industry to create 216,000 jobs

28 January 2013

Industry and the agro-industrial sector are the Mozambican government’s focus to create almost 216,000 jobs in 2013, whilst the economy is expected to post one of the world’s highest rates of growth.

The Mozambican Economic and Social Programme for 2013, which was approved at the end of 2012, sets out the country’s macroeconomic and social targets, and for this year outlines solid economic growth driven above all by the emerging extractive industry, which is expected to grow by 18.6 percent.

The financial sector is projected to grow 17.7 percent and transport by 14.1 percent, reflecting coal exports (7.5 million tons), but the government is also expecting robust performance in sectors such as real estate, tourism and industry.

Agriculture is expected to post growth of 4.6 percent, particularly due to large-scale explorations, with cashew, tea, sugar and tobacco harvests seeing improvements, as in previous years.

The Economic and Social Plan outlines creation of 216,000, of which 162,000 are in the private sector, partly due to large projects worth US$6 billion, particularly in agro-industry (sugar and biofuels) but also three new thermal and hydroelectric plants, a petrochemical plant and a cement factory.

The Mozambican government also has ambitious plans to make significant progress in its Millennium Development Goals, to be concluded in 2015, in the areas of Health and Education.

According to the Economist Intelligence Unit, its is “unlikely” that the target for job creation will be achieved, given the current weakness of the labour market and traditionally, “slow execution of investment projects”, but that overall the Programme seems “relatively realistic in its broad macroeconomic projections” which are slightly more “upbeat” than those of the EIU.

The biggest risk, it said, is that greater expectations for exploration of natural resources to improve living conditions of the average citizen will not become a reality, thus leading to social dissatisfaction.

The government’s projections point to growth of 8.4 percent this year, with inflation of 7.5 percent.

The targets are in line with those of the International Monetary fund (IMF), but are some way from those of the EIU (8 percent for growth and 5.5 percent for inflation).

“Lower expectations for global economic growth and trade as well as an uncertain outlook for global demand in commodities have led to more caution,” said the EIU in its latest report on Mozambique.

Last year, the performance of the Mozambican economy was “notable” the EIU said, having posted growth of 7.4 percent despite the fragile state of the global economy.

The State Budget for this year projects a continued drop in dependence on foreign aid, from 40 percent to 32 percent, but high nonetheless.

Whilst countries such as the Netherlands and Spain have reduced their aid, “new partners” such as China and India have offset this drop by providing loans.

Tax revenues from extracting natural resources have also increased sharply, particularly those related to coal, whilst the country is also preparing to start extracting natural gas in the Rovuma basin in 2018. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH