莫桑比克发现天然气引来巨额投资

2012年02月21日

英国伦敦2月20日电-英国《经济学人》智库(EIU)称,莫桑比克最近有数次“世界级”的天然气发现,使得该国有望成为非洲的能源生产大国,同时引来了数十亿美元的外资。

EIU的最新莫桑比克研究报告称,未来数年,投资和未来大规模天然气生产,有助于减轻莫桑比克对外国援助的依赖程度,政府财政收入有望大幅增长,政府制定政策的自主性也将大幅增强。

英国经济学者称,“天然气、石油及其他烃类资源的开发将对莫桑比克产生重大的影响,为政府提供新的实质性收入来源,降低外国援助的重要性,从而消弱捐助方对政府执政施加的压力。”

美国阿纳达科石油公司在莫桑比克北部德尔加杜角省海域开展勘探。该公司今年一月中旬宣布,在该地区发现的天然气总储量在15万亿至30万亿立方英尺之间,是最初估计储量的三倍,“达到了世界级”。

以阿纳达科公司为首、由日本、印度和英国投资者组成的财团还计划建立一个液化天然气厂和一个出口码头,2018年前预计投资180亿美元,这将是莫桑比克有史以来最大的投资项目。

EIU称,然而,大部分投资将用于莫桑比克境外,与该国落后的服务业和工业“没有多少关系”。

除此之外,最近还有其他一些天然气“重大发现”,意大利埃尼集团去年11月宣布,找到了一个“巨大的”气田,估计总储量达22万亿立方英尺。

马来西亚国有石油公司Petronas、南非萨索尔公司等其他大型国际集团也参与了莫桑比克天然气勘探。

EIU称,莫桑比克经济将保持持续增长,年均增长率达8%,“主要得益于矿业大发展。”

EIU的报告称,“最近海上大气田的发现,意味着包括煤炭在内的碳氢化合物产业将成为莫桑比克经济增长的主要动力。”

(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Natural gas discoveries in Mozambique attract big investments

21 February 2012

London, United Kingdom, 20 Feb – Recent discoveries of natural gas in Mozambique are on a “world level” and boost the country’s potential as a large energy producer in Africa and attracting billions of dollars in foreign investments, according to the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU).

Investments and the future production of gas on a large scale also offer Mozambique the possibility of becoming less dependent on foreign aid, significantly increasing State revenues over the next few years and the government’s independence in setting its own policies, said the EIU in its latest report on the country.

“The development of gas and other hydrocarbon resources, including oil, will have big implications for Mozambique, producing new substantial sources of revenues for the government and reducing the importance of foreign aid and, as a result, the capacity of donors to put pressure on governance,” said the British economists.

US oil company Anadarko Petroleum, which is exploring the sea off the province of Cabo Delgado (northern Mozambique), announced in mid January that natural gas reserves found in the area total between 15 trillion and 30 trillion cubic feet, “a resource on a world level,” that is almost three times the size initially estimated.

The company, which leads a consortium of Japanese, Indian and British investors also plans to set up a natural gas liquefaction unit and an export terminal, in which the expected investment, of US$18 billion by 2018, will be the biggest ever in Mozambique.

However, most of this investment will be applied outside Mozambique and will have “few links” to the poorly developed services and industrial sectors in the country, according to the EIU.

Alongside this other “substantial discoveries” were made recently in gas exploration, mainly by Italy’s ENI, which announced in November it had identified a “gigantic” gas field with total estimated reserves of 22 trillion cubic feet.

Other large international groups such as Malaysia’s Petronas and South Africa’s Sasol, are also involved in the development of the natural gas industry in Mozambique.

According to the EIU, economic growth in Mozambique will remain string, reaching an average of 8 percent per year, “in large measure supported by expansion of the mining sector.”

“The recent discoveries of vast quantities of natural gas in the sea mean that the hydrocarbon sector, which also includes coal, is preparing to become the main driving force behind growth,” the report said. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH