非洲自由贸易区渐趋活跃

2019年06月17日

联合国经济委员会与非洲开发银行正积极推展由葡语国家签署并获确认、有关成立非洲自由贸易区的协议。

协议旨在促进非洲经济能量的释放,由于迄5月30日为止,已有超过22个非洲国家确认协议(亦即“自贸区”取得正式地位的法律要件),“自贸区”将于下月(7月)在尼日尔Niamey市举行的“非洲联盟首脑会议”上正式启动。

非洲大陆是一个规模达12亿美元的快速增长市场。《非洲大陆自由贸易区协议》(AfCFTA)的签署国已同意取消关税、配额以及各自对出口商品的偏重。

“联合国非洲经济委员会”(ECA)中非地区总监António Pedro透过《联合国通讯》(UN News)发布公告称,葡语国家均签署了协议,但各国的议会尚未确认,故ECA将积极促进该等国家尽快完成必须的确认程序。

据Pedro称,ECA正与圣多美和普林西比(“圣普”)、安哥拉、佛得角等葡语非洲国家接触,以促成其事。

Pedro称:“有需要一个挨一个国家地诊断、解难,找出各国的相对优势,从而围绕这些优势创造发展战略。这就是我们正在为所有国家(包括….安哥拉、佛得角和圣普)所做的”。

Pedro说,在安哥拉,非洲联盟的倡议将透过在地区和非洲整体创造价值链,加速各国民族工业的发育。

他又说:“相关国家现在就要决定哪些商品不纳入自贸区豁免产品清单,然後根据各自的相对优势,形成各自的产业政策。”

据估计,目前非洲大陆内部的贸易额占非洲国家对内对外贸易总额的比重,仅介于16%至17%之间。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

African Free Trade Zone gains momentum

17 June 2019

The United Nations Economic Commission and the African Development Bank are actively promoting the treaty establishing free trade in Africa, which has been signed by the Portuguese-speaking countries and already validated.

The agreement, which aims to promote the economic emancipation of the continent, by 30 May had been ratified by more than 22 countries, a legal condition for its validation, and will be officially launched at the end of July at the African Union summit in Niamey, in Niger, by the countries that have ratified it.

The signatory countries of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) have agreed to eliminate tariffs, quotas and preferences on goods sold in an estimated 1.2 billion fast-growing market.

In the case of the Portuguese-speaking countries, they signed the treaty, but the national parliaments have not yet ratified it, which has led the UN Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) to actively promote the conclusion of the process, according to the ECA regional director for Central Africa, António Pedro, in statements to UN News.

According to Pedro, the ECA is in contact with the authorities of São Tomé and Príncipe, Angola and Cabo Verde, so that the countries can also prepare for the transition.

“It is necessary to do these studies, diagnoses, country by country, to identify their comparative advantages and therefore to create the strategy around that. This is what we are doing for all countries, including (…) Angola and Cabo Verde and São Tomé and Príncipe,” said the head of the ECA.

In Angola, he said, the AU initiative will catalyse the creation of national industries, with the creation of value chains, within the regional and continental context.

“Countries have to determine now the list of products that will fall outside the exemption scheme that is the basis of the free trade area. 10% of products, of which 7% may be on the protected list and 3% completely excluded, that for a certain time may benefit from protection. And it is on these 10% of the list of sensitive and excluded products that many countries want to base their industrialisation policies,” said Pedro.

Currently, inter-African trade is estimated to be between just 16% and 17% of the total. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH