非洲葡语国家期待中国大型工业投资

2016年05月30日

安哥拉和莫桑比克正面临经济困难之际,安莫两国政府愈加以争取来自中国的大型工业投资,作为政策目标之一。

2015年12月在约翰内斯堡举行的“中非合作论坛”(FOCAC)的其中一个目标,是把中国部分工业产能转移至非洲。此议题在莫总统纽西与安总统最近访问北京时,再被提及。

伦敦大学“东方与非洲研究院”(SOAS)研究员Carlos Oya和Terry McKinley最近在“南非国际事务研究所”(SAIIA)发表题为《中国-非洲:成熟的关系?增长、转变和抵抗》的研究报告,“把中国的产能转移至非洲”是报告的中心关注点。报告列出若干最有可能成事的案例,特别是在安哥拉。

研究员认为,经济景气不理想(例如安哥拉所面对的),一方面可影响规划中的公私营部门投资计划,另一方面“诸如中国等面对低技术产品和建材领域产能过剩的国家,可把生产程序转移至生产成本低的国家”,特别是非洲。

研究员称,诸如石油大宗商品的价格下挫,或有助“加速投资于工业和服务业的步伐,以解资源市场的压力”,而据他们观察,“主要产油国之一的安哥拉正在经历此一趋势”。

报告作者又称:“备受财政预算危机困扰的安哥拉政府开始公开表示,有需要发展包括制造业在内的多元经济,越来越侧重促进建材制造、农业生产和加工的发展。缺乏外汇也正迫使企业向国内寻求替代生产要素,特别是建材。”

在同一份SAIIA报告中,美国“霍金斯中国-非洲研究计划”研究员Deborah Brautigam称,迄2014年底止,中国商务部批准的工业投资申请中,有128项是投向肯尼亚、80项在埃塞俄比亚、77项在南非、48项在坦桑尼亚、44项在加纳。

同一个资料来源透露,同年中国海外投资总额为1,230亿美元,其中仅32亿投向非洲。此比例一直保持稳定。

Brautigam称:“获批中国投资的非洲国家,根据它们国内人口相对于其他非洲国家的多寡,共分第一、第二、第四、第五和第七几个等级。据此可以看出,国内市场规模或许是中国工业投资者最看重的因素。”

公开大学的Giles Mohan指出,中国已在非洲基建领域投放大量资金,而中国公民到安国开业,承包大型公共项目,也渐成趋势。

Mohan称,中国跨国集团较不愿意外包服务、分享技术经验,但随着近年天然资源价格下滑,降低成本的压力不小,将生产流程转移出国,是应对策略之一。

SAIIA的报告收纳了北京大学研究员Justin Yifu Lin的发言。他说:“工业持续多元化和现代化,可创造就业和繁荣经济”,而“在中国工资的持续上升,将是非洲的机遇。”

他说:“非洲国家若能抓住这些机会,将可如东亚国家般持续增长,因为,基本上所有经济上成功的国家,都以发展轻工业开始,继而逐步向其他产业过度。”(macauhub/AO/CN/MZ)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Portuguese-speaking Africa awaits arrival of large Chinese industrial investments

Support from China for the industrialisation of Angola and Mozambique has been set as an objective on a government level, as large investments in local production capacity, even more necessary at a time of economic difficulties, are now expected.

The Forum for China-Africa Cooperation (FOCAC) held in December 2015 in Johannesburg set the goal to shift Chinese industries to Africa, a subject that was discussed once again during the recent visit by Mozambican president, Filipe Nyusi, to Beijing, as well as when his Angolan counterpart was in Beijing.

The idea of moving Chinese industry to Africa is central to the recent compilation of studies “China-Africa: A Maturing Relationship? Growth, Change and Resistance” by the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA), in which researchers Carlos Oya and Terry McKinley, of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London, identify a number of opportunities in the current situation, particularly in Angola.

The researchers write that the adverse economic climate in economies such as Angola can, on the one hand, affect public and private investment that is currently planned, but on the other hand, “the excess production capacity in countries such as China in the manufacture of low technology products and building materials can lead to a process of moving to low-cost production sites “, particularly in Africa.

The fall in commodity prices such as oil, may even “help accelerate investment in more industry and services, relieving the pressure of the raw materials market”, which “is beginning to happen in Angola, one major exporter of oil,” the researchers say.

“In Angola, the government – which is currently immersed in a budget crisis – began to articulate more openly the need for diversification and development of the industry, with an increasing emphasis on promoting the manufacture of building materials, agricultural processing and production. The shortage of foreign currency is also gradually leading companies to seek suppliers of local products, especially in building materials,” they added.

In the same SAIIA compilation, US researcher Deborah Brautigam ( “Johns Hopkins China Africa Research Initiative”) says that the investment applications approved by the Chinese Foreign Trade Ministry by the end of 2014 included 128 industrial projects in Nigeria, 80 in Ethiopia, 77 in South Africa, 48 in Tanzania and 44 in Ghana.

In the same year, according to the same information, China invested US$123 billion worldwide, of which only US$3.2 billion went to Africa, a flow that has remained relatively stable.

“African countries with approved Chinese investment are classified into first, second, fourth, fifth and seventh in terms of the size of their population compared to other African nations. This suggests that the local market size may be the most important factor for a large number of potential Chinese manufacturers,” says Brautigam.

Giles Mohan, of the Open University, points out that China has invested heavily in infrastructure in Africa, and that there is a trend in Angola for business creation by Chinese citizens arriving in the country to work on large public company projects.

Chinese multinationals have shown less willingness to outsource services “and thus potentially develop links” and share knowledge, but “this seems to be changing” with the recent drop in prices of raw materials and necessary cost cuts, in particular through relocation, says Mohan.

In a speech included in the SAIIA compilation, researcher Justin Yifu Lin, of Beijing University, argues that “continued industrial diversification and modernisation are the way to create jobs and achieve prosperity” and “dynamic and increasing wage growth in China will be an opportunity for Africa.”

“African countries, if they can capture these opportunities, can grow as dynamically as the East Asian countries because, fundamentally, all successful countries began the transformation of their structural situation through light industry,” he said. (macauhub/AO/CN/MZ)

MACAUHUB FRENCH