安哥拉经济开放改善增长前景

2017年12月11日

赢得2017年8月大选的安哥拉新政府上台以来所推行的经济开放政策(特别是在电讯和石油领域),正改善该国中期经济增长前景,一些研究机构甚至预测更快的经济增长。

安哥拉电信部长最近宣布为第四个电信服务牌照进行国际公开招标,又将国营电信运营商“安哥拉电信”的45%股权进行私有化。由于看到安国电信市场开发的趋势,“有可能是一个改善整体营商环境的重要一步”,《经济学人》智库(EIU)透露或将安国经济增长率调高。

目前,EIU预测安哥拉2017年的经济增长率为2.7%、2018年减慢至2.4%。国际货币基金组织(IMF)相应的数字则为:2017年增长仅1.5%。但根据官方统计数据,安国今年经济停滞不前。

EIU在其最新关于安哥拉的预测报告中称,基于市场潜力,是次“招标应可吸引有份量的潜在投标人”进入市场。较激烈的竞争将带来“更优质更便宜”的电信服务,“对国内冒起中的私营部门而言、对国家发展多元经济、减低对石油的依赖的努力而言,都是正面的发展”。

《非洲情报观察》的报告指出,安哥拉在世界银行有关环球营商环境排名位列最差组别,今天电信市场的开放,对投资者而言“是新政府解决商业活动的掣肘的能力的一项测试”。

短、中期而言,《非洲情报观察》认为石油领域仍将是安国经济发展的火车头,同时“是投资者对环境反应较快的一个领域”,即由Carlos Saturnino牵头的国营“安哥拉石油公司”(“安国油”)新管理层建议的、相关领域的一个新模式。

“安国油”于两周内分别与意大利埃尼集团(ENI)和法国道达尔(Total)签署协议——与ENI的合作涉及北卡宾达区块的石油开采,以及在天然气领域合作;与Total的合作涉及48号超深水区块的采油作业、勘探17号区块,以及合组股权各半的合资企业,分销成品油。

协议是在安哥拉新政府决定开放市场之后签署,它包括了合作进口成品油,以及拓展整个燃油生产流程的可能性;还可能为Total涉足安哥拉新建炼油设施铺平道路。安国新总统João Lourenço有意恢复发展炼油业,以结束该国缺乏石油加工能力的局面。

政治新局面的经济影响,令顾问公司Eurasia在最近一次公开通讯中,将安哥拉的经济前景提升至“正面”。

Eurasia称:“自就任总统以来,Lourenço改革的动作很快。” Eurasia指出,撤换若干官员,以及改变政策总是向若干企业倾斜的局面,特别是涉及前任总统家族的企业。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Economic openness in Angola improves prospects for growth

11 December 2017

The economic openness promoted by the new government of Angola, instated following elections in August 2017, particularly in the areas of telecommunications and oil, is improving the country’s prospects in the medium term and leading some analysts to forecast faster growth.

After Angola’s minister of telecommunications announced the launch of an international tender to award a license to a fourth operator, along with the privatisation of 45% of public carrier Angola Telecom, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) said it was likely to revise its economic growth forecast for the country, due to the opening up of the telecommunications market, a potentially significant step “to improve the general business climate.”

The EIU currently expects of 2.7% for the Angolan economy in 2017, which should slow down to 2.4% in 2018, while the International Monetary Fund (IMF) predicts growth of just 1.5% this year, after the Angolan economy stagnated last year, according to official statistics.

The EIU said in its latest report on Angola that there should be “significant interest in the tender” for the new operator, given the potential of the market, and that greater competition between operators should lead to “better and cheaper” telecommunications services, a “positive development for the country’s emerging private sector and for efforts to diversify the country’s economy, avoiding dependence on oil.”

The Africa Monitor Intelligence newsletter said that opening up the telecommunications sector is also seen among investors “as a test of the new government’s ability in relation to resolving constraints on business activity,” in a country where the business climate is among the worst in the world, according to the World Bank ranking.

In the short and medium term, the newsletter added, the oil sector will continue to drive the economy and “was the one in which investors reacted most quickly to expected changes,” in particular a new model for the sector, as recommended by the new board of state oil company Sonangol, led by Carlos Saturnino.

The reaction involved, within two weeks, Sonangol signing two agreements, one with Italian oil company ENI, for production in the Cabinda Norte block and collaboration in natural gas projects projects, and, another with France’s Total, for exploration of Block 48, in ultra-deep waters, development of Block 17 and the creation of a 50/50 company to operate in the distribution of refined fuels.

This agreement also includes the possibility of the partnership importing refined products, following the liberalisation of the market, extending the partnership to the entire fuel cycle, and possibly paving the way for Total to get involved in the new refinery in Angola, that the new president, João Lourenço, intends to resume, in order to put an end to the lack of productive capacity in Angola.

The economic impact of the new political scenario also led the Eurasia consultancy to raise its outlook for Angola to “positive”, in a recently published note.

“Lourenço has quickly moved ahead with major reforms since he came to power,” said Eurasia, highlighting the changes of several officials, as well as doing away with certain situations that favoured some companies, particularly those involving the family of the former President. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH