预期2020年佛得角经济:增长加速、债负减少

2019年12月02日

根据于11月29日通过的佛得角《国家一般预算2020》,预计明年佛国经济增长将加速、目前高企的债务负担将进一步减少(后者被认为是佛国经济其中一项主要弱点)。

根据“非洲葡语国家(PALOP)东帝汶(TL)地区协调委员会法律数据库”(Legis-PALOP+TL)向Macauhub提供的《国家预算基本法》,佛国国内资助的预算赤字,不得超过(以市场价格计,下同)GDP的3%。

至于对国家债务的限制,该文件指出,短、中期公共内外债务不得超过GDP的60%、长期全球公共债务不得超过GDP的80%。

Legis-PALOP+TL提供的文件说:“当政府债务超过上述基准时,政府必须设法减少超额债务。”

《国家预算》以《中期支出框架》和《国家规划与战略文件》的目标为指导、以前几年的数字为基础,并考虑未来几年的前景而制定。

在国民议会有关国家预算的辩论结束时,佛国总理席尔瓦特别指出国家目前的经济增长速度,估计是2016年的五倍。

政府预计,到2020年,经济增长将在4.8%至5.8%的区间;公共债务的比重将下降至相当于GDP的118.5%,较今年(120%)下降1.5个百分点;失业率从目前的12%下降至11.4%。

《国家一般预算2020》开列了730亿埃斯库多(佛国货币,约合7.293亿美元)的支出,较当前国家预算增加20亿佛币(2,000万美元)。

“佛得角预算支持小组”(GAO)于近期(11月18日至22日)的任务结束时强调了公共债务的下降趋势——从2017年相当于GDP的127%降至2018年的124%。

根据GAO的说法,政府债务相对于GDP的下降,是财政紧缩、经济增长加快和汇率的有利变化综合作用的结果。

然而,在评估访问时,GAO警告说,“外债过多的风险仍高”,并指出在保障社会支出的同时,须“同时兼顾增加收入和控制公共支出的增长”。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Cabo Verde expects to see economic growth accelerate and debt burden fall in 2020

2 December 2019

Cabo Verde’s 2020 State Budget (OE), approved on 29 November, forecasts an acceleration of economic growth and a continuation of the fall in the country’s high debt burden, one of the main weaknesses of the Cape Verdean economy.

The State Budget Basic Law, accessed by Macauhub through Legis-PALOP+TL, states that the domestically-funded budget deficit may not exceed 3% of Gross Domestic Product (GDP) at market prices.

As for the limits on state indebtedness, the document said, short- and medium-term public domestic and external debt cannot exceed 60% of GDP at market prices and long-term global public debt cannot exceed 80% of GDP at market prices.

“When the ratio of government debt to GDP exceeds these benchmarks, the government is obliged to reduce the amount of excess debt,” says the law provided by the Legis-PALOP+TL database.

The State Budget is guided by the targets of the Medium Term Expenditure Framework (QDMP) and the National Planning and Strategy Document (DPEN) and is based on the results of previous years, taking into account the outlook for future years.

At the end of the debate on the State Budget, in the National Assembly, the Prime Minister, Ulisses Correia e Silva, highlighted the country’s current pace of economic growth, which he estimated at five times more than in 2016.

The government expects economic growth in the range of 4.8% to 5.8% by 2020 and a reduction in the weight of public debt to 118.5% of GDP, down by 1.5 percentage points from this year (120%), and the unemployment rate should fall from the current 12% to 11.4%.

The 2020 General State Budget outlines expenditure of 73 billion escudos (US$729.3 million), or 2 billion escudos (US$20 million) more than the current state budget.

The downward trend in public debt was also highlighted at the conclusion of the recent mission of the Cabo Verde Budget Support Group (GAO) from 18 to 22 November, from 127% of GDP in 2017 to 124% in 2018.

According to the GAO, the decline in government debt relative to GDP is due to the combined effect of fiscal restraint, accelerating growth and favourable exchange rate changes.

However, in the appraisal of the visit, the GAO warned that “the risk of excessive foreign debt remains high” and pointed to the need for “an increase in revenues and containment of the increase in public spending,” while safeguarding social spending. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH