东部和南部非洲国家越来越倾向以人民币为储备货币

14个东部和南部非洲国家的央行行长、政府官员和“非洲开发银行”的官员最近在津巴布韦首都哈拉雷出席一个有关外汇储备管理的论坛,讨论以人民币作为储备货币的可能性。安哥拉和莫桑比克是14个国家之一。

东部和南部非洲“宏观经济和金融管理研究所”(MEFMI)发言人Gladys Siwela-Jadagu称,哈拉雷论坛的召开,正值区内央行的储备“几乎见底”,而以外币计价的外债(连利息)持续攀升;此外,区内国家要诉诸商业借贷以支持基建建设。

 

区内大部分国家大部分以美元为储备货币,此情况并未隨世界经济转变而转变,特别是未因应中国和印度经济的崛起而调整,后者近年越来越成为非洲的重要贸易伙伴。

新华社援引Siwela-Jadagu称,“东部和南部非洲大部分国家都接受中国的贷款或捐赠,若双方都使用人民币,该是正常不过,而由于人民币已被认为是非洲贸易的通货,政策制定者采取措施,策略地推进非洲采纳人民币,至关重要”。

他说:“由于中国是超过130个国家的最大贸易伙伴,非洲国家的主要挑战,是如何从国际贸易的新格局中受惠。”

南非于2016年推出非洲首个人民币交易平台,便利人民币与南非货币兰特进行交易。今年3月,尼日利亚与中国签署了规模达24亿美元的货币互换协议。

较早时,加纳、尼日利亚、毛里求斯和津巴布韦已接受人民币作为支付和储备货币,其中,尼日利亚央行的外汇储备中,人民币占比已超过10%。

中国和安哥拉于2015年8月签署正式协议,容许两国互换货币,《经济学人》智库(EIU)当时将此解读为安哥拉“希望”更多使用人民币,以取代该国已经相当稀缺的美元。

 

澳门特别行政区政府已采取措施,积极推动在非洲使用人民币——在中央政府的支持下,澳门争取成为中国与葡语国家银行间人民币清算的平台。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Adoption of China’s currency gains popularity in southern Africa

The growing adoption of China’s currency by central banks was advocated at a forum on foreign reserve management in Southern Africa held in Harare, Zimbabwe, with the participation of 14 countries in the region, including Angola and Mozambique.

A spokeswoman for the Macroeconomic and Financial Management Institute of Eastern and Southern Africa (MEFMI) Gladys Siwela-Jadagu said that the Harare Forum took place at a time when central bank reserves in the region are “roughly” at minimum levels and that public debt denominated in foreign currencies continues to increase, as well as interest payments, as countries are using commercial loans to finance infrastructure construction.

Most of the reserves of the majority of countries in the region are invested in dollars, and their makeup has yet to accompany changes in the world economy, in particular, the rise of China and India, which have gained particular importance as African trading partners in recent years.

“Most countries in the Eastern/Southern region have loans or grants from China and it would make economic sense to pay them in yuan. This is why it is critical for policy-makers to strategise about the continent’s progress towards adopting the Chinese yuan, which has become what we can call a common currency in trade with Africa,” said Siwela-Jadagu cited by the Xinhua news agency.

“As China is the largest trading partner for more than 130 countries, the main challenge for African countries is how to benefit from the new pattern of international trade,” she said.

The forum was attended by representatives of central banks and governments in the region, as well as officials from the African Development Bank.

In March, Nigeria signed a US$2.4 billion currency exchange agreement with China in the wake of a similar move by another of the major African economies, South Africa, which in 2016 launched an initial exchange platform between the yuan and the rand, to facilitate exchanges between the two currencies.

Earlier, Ghana, Nigeria, Mauritius and Zimbabwe had accepted the yuan for payments and reserves, and the Nigerian central bank already has more than 10% of its foreign reserves in Chinese currency.

China and Angola signed an official agreement in August 2015 to allow for reciprocal use of the currencies of both countries, which was then interpreted by the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) as a result of the Angolan “hope” that greater use of the yuan will reduce the need for dollars, which are scarce in the country.

The Macau Special Administrative Region has been taking steps to play a role in the African roll-out of the yuan, with the support of the central government of China, to become a bank platform for clearing the currency between China and the Portuguese-speaking countries. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH