研究机构:非洲不再是巴西政府的外交重点

根据“巴西-非洲研究所”(IBRAF)的报告,于巴西政府而言,维持与非洲的经济关系的重要性已消失。不像中国和其他新兴国家,巴西无视该大洲的发展潜力。

在一份针对巴西上届政府与非洲关系的发展之研究,以及在10月7日总统候选人的建议中,IBRAF指出,巴西任何具政治实力的一方,均应自“较有能力与巴西企业建立对话”的非洲公司,作为贸易对象。

IBRAF称,政策建议同样没有提及“能引领巴西品牌进占非洲大陆的国家级技术之转移”。

IBRAF又称:“规模达12亿人口的大陆,不能忽视。根据世界银行的资料,2018年最具增长潜力的五个经济体中,有四个在非洲(加纳、埃塞俄比亚、科达迪瓦和吉布提)。预期非洲中产阶级将以较全球平均速度为高的速度增长。例如尼日利亚,日均婴儿出生数字较欧盟日高。今天认为是负担的问题,或許是明天的机遇。”

IBRAF说:“在中国视非洲为大文章的同时,巴西却弃之不顾。除中国外,土耳其、日本和美国等国都已看到这个庞大商机,大力往非洲投资。”

据IBRAF称,巴西的特梅尔政府“并不珍视与巴西的关系”,而总统候选人“并无提出任何扭转目前政策的提议”。

2003至2011年间,前总统席尔瓦(Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva)当政时期的政府先后13次出访非洲,合共踏足28国,超过他的两位前任加起来;此外,又提升了该国非洲的外交网络——目前共在非洲28个国家设立大使馆。

IBRAF观察到,前任总统罗塞夫上任后,“这些行动便见松弛”,任内仅出访过七个非洲国家,惹来商界和外交界“削弱巴西-非洲关系”的批评。

作为回应,罗塞夫宣布非洲工作日程,例如与12个非洲国家合共9亿美元债务重新进行谈判——让新生意有赚头的第一步,以及改革“巴西合作署”(ABC)。

现任总统特梅尔2016年8月上任以来,从未出访非洲——直至今年7月到佛得角出席“非洲葡语国家共同体(CPLP)”峰会以及到南非出席“金砖国家”峰会。

特梅尔向金砖国家峰会告诉会领袖:“重新与非洲建立关系,是长期优先政策,将化为具体行动,强化我们的联系,以及推进南大西洋两岸的发展。”

巴西已经宣布在非洲进行的若干项目中,包括在圣多美和普林西比设立可缩短诊断肺痨所需时间的实验室,以及在约翰内斯堡新设巴西航空工业公司培训中心。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Africa not a priority for Brazilian Governments, IBRAF says

Economic relations with Africa have been losing importance for Brazil’s governments, which ignore the continent’s potential, unlike China and other emerging economies, according to the Brazil-Africa Institute (IBRAF).

In an analysis of the development of relations with Africa of the last Brazilian governments, as well as the proposals of the presidential candidates of 7 October, IBRAF noted that those with political power in Brazil should select their trading partners in Africa, out of those who ” have greater vocation to establish a dialogue with Brazilian companies.”

Also absent from the policy proposals is “the transfer of national technology, which could lead Brazilian brands to gain ground in the African continent,” said the Brazilian institute.

“A cluster of 1.2 billion people cannot be overlooked. Of the five economies expected to grow most in 2018, four are in Africa (Ghana, Ethiopia, Ivory Coast and Djibouti) according to the World Bank. The African middle class is expected to increase proportionately more than in other regions of the world. In Nigeria, for example, there are more births per day than in the European Union as a whole. What could be a problem can be seen as an opportunity,” said IBRAF.

“While China sees Africa as a big agenda, Brazil is turning its back on the continent. In addition to China, Turkey, Japan and the United States are examples of other nations that already see this opportunity and make massive investments in Africa,” it said.

According to IBRAF, the current government of Michel Temer “does not value this relationship” with the African continent and the presidential candidates “do not put forward a counterbalance to the current policy.”

The government of Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva gave priority to programmes to get closer to Africa and, between 2003 and 2011, the former president made 13 trips to Africa, visiting 28 countries, more than his two predecessors put together, and increased the African diplomatic network, which now has 28 embassies.

Under Dilma Rousseff’s administration, “these actions lost intensity,” according to IBRAF, with the former president making only seven official trips to African countries, prompting criticism from business people and diplomats for weakening Brazil-Africa relations.

In response, Rousseff announced an agenda for the continent, such as the renegotiation of US$900 million in debts of 12 African countries with Brazil – the first step to making new business viable and a reform in the Brazilian Cooperation Agency (ABC).

Since August 2016, when he took office, Temer made no official visits to Africa until July of this year when he visited Cabo Verde (Cape Verde) for the Community of Portuguese Speaking Countries (CPLP) summit and to South Africa for the BRICS summit.

“The rapprochement with Africa is a permanent priority, which translates into concrete actions to strengthen our ties and promote development on both sides of the South Atlantic,” Temer told the BRICS summit.

Among the few Brazilian projects announced in Africa is the construction of a laboratory that will reduce the time for diagnosis of tuberculosis in São Tomé and Príncipe and the inauguration of the new training centre of Brazilian aeronautical company Embraer in Johannesburg. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH