安哥拉既维持与中国及葡语国家之关系 亦找“新盟友”

据《经济学人》智库(EIU)报道,安哥拉在继续优先维持与中国及葡语国家之关系的同时,正寻求结交“新盟友”,特别是日本。

EIU在其最新发布有关安哥拉的报告中称,安国总统洛伦索正努力为安哥拉与欧洲之间在经济和外交上作多元发展,2018年访问了法国和比利時,今年稍后将访问葡萄牙。

EIU的报告称:“新盟友正在酝酿,尽管维持与美国及中国等国际强国的关系的优次序也很高。”

EIU的报告又称,洛伦索总统于2018年对中国进行正式访问后,北京宣布向安哥拉开立规模达20亿美元的信贷额度,“主要用于支持基建项目”。

报告称:“安哥拉将继续以与包括巴西在内的葡语国家,以及前宗主国葡萄牙的关系为优先。”葡安两国有长久的“经济、政治和文化联系”,但这关系因葡萄牙对安哥拉高层官员展开一连串司法调查而受阻,“这情况必须克服”。

安哥拉与日本的关系也在提升——双方最近签订了价值6亿美元的合同,由一个日本财团负责重建纳米贝港。

EIU称:“合同对有意进一步开拓非洲、但又被中国及韩国等亚洲对手比下去的日本而言,也很重要。” EIU不忘指出日本将于8月主办“第七届东京非洲发展国际会议”。

报告又称:“历史上,基于安哥拉的营商环境,日本对投资该国一直持谨慎态度,而安国政府把改善国内营商环境纳入政府改革议程,被认为是正面信号。”

另据《非洲观察》报道,“国际货币基金组织”(IMF)对安哥拉的资助,正产生良好的成果,改善了安国的营商环境,“安哥拉据此正洽谈多笔国际融资”。

《非洲观察》指出,今年1月,安哥拉以“非常优惠”的条件,与两家英国银行谈成最少两笔融资,利率为“伦敦同业拆息+ 1.5%”(适用于英镑、欧元和日元),较与中国洽谈的(平均3.4%)为低。

《非洲观察》称,“洛伦索自上任以来,已进行过好几次外访,冀吸引外来私人投资、寻求信贷,以及(具体地说)向中国提出检讨债务的要求。” (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Angola nurtures “new alliances” but preserves ties with China and Portuguese-speaking countries

Angola, under the leadership of President João Lourenço, has been forging “new alliances,” notably with Japan, but continues to prioritise ties with China and the Portuguese-speaking countries, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) said.

The EIU recalls in its latest report on Angola that Lourenço, in an effort to diversify economic and diplomatic relations in Europe, visited France and Belgium in 2018 before visiting Portugal later that year.

“New alliances are being nurtured, although relations with global powers such as the US and China will also have high priority,” the EIU said.

The report recalls that after a state visit to China by Lourenço in 2018, the Chinese authorities announced a new credit line of US$2 billion, “which will be used mainly to finance infrastructure projects.”

“Angola will continue to prioritise relations with Portuguese-speaking countries, including Brazil, as well as with the former colonial power, Portugal, “a country with which longstanding economic, political and cultural ties” have been hampered by a number of Portuguese legal investigations of senior Angolan officials, a situation that should be overcome.

Relations with Japan are also growing, benefiting from a recently signed US$600 million contract for the recovery of the port of Namibe by a consortium of Japanese companies.

The contract is also significant for Japan as it intends to expand its presence in Africa, despite being overshadowed by its Asian rivals China and South Korea and is preparing to hold the seventh Tokyo International Conference on African Development in August, the EIU said.

“Japan has historically been cautious about investing in Angola because of the country’s operating environment, and this latest investment is a welcome omen for the government’s reform agenda,” it said.

Angola is under the assistance of the International Monetary Fund, which, according to Africa Monitor, already translates into a “more favourable environment in which Angola is now negotiating international credits.”

Africa Monitor reported that in January, in what are considered “very favourable” conditions, Angola negotiated at least two loans with British banks, for which the interest rate applied, Libor+1.5% (in pounds sterling/euro/yen) is lower than that of loans negotiated with China (an average of 3.4%).

“Since the beginning of his term, João Lourenço has made several trips abroad with the purpose of attracting private investment, securing loans and, in the specific case of China, to present the intention of a debt renegotiation,” the EIU said. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH