研究机构:投资安哥拉和莫桑比克风险偏高

2019年09月30日

根据“牛津经济研究院”(Oxford Economics)以及“风控咨询”(Control Risks)两家顾问行发布的《风险-回报指数2019》报告,尽管投资回报率呈上升趋势,安哥拉和莫桑比克是投资风险最高的非洲国家之一。

在上述研究中,安哥拉的“风险”评分为6.16(较2018年改善0.13分),但几乎是排名最高的毛里求斯和博茨瓦纳的两倍;莫桑比克的评分则为6.07(同样有改善——变动幅度为0.11分)。

“回报率”方面,莫桑比克(评分为3.72)也比安哥拉(3.18)高,尽管改善程度(+0.24)不及安哥拉(+ 0.69)。在这方面,安哥拉的表现仅次于津巴布韦。

在报告中,安哥拉的“回报率”改善,是研究的其中一个重点——其表现归因于自现任总统洛伦索两年前上任以来,一直奉行雄心勃勃的改革议程。然而,报告对该国的情况有所保留,因为在其风险水平高于非洲国家平均数值的同时,其回报率水平卻低于非洲平均。

研究报告称:“(政府进行了)许多预算的、货币的和监管的改革,以及随之推进的、更重大的结构变化,这些变化挑战了既得利益,并对经济治理引入了某程度的监督。”

上述“既得利益”,主要是与前总统多斯桑托斯及其家人、政治盟友的利益。

分析师表示:“两年来的改革努力产生了影响,但也突显了许多安哥拉挑战的棘手性质:货币短缺持续存在、经济继续过度依赖石油,我们预计2019年将是连续第四年经历衰退。”

他们指出,就像在埃塞俄比亚一样,“改革派领导人的宏伟计划和广受拥戴,但因遇到复杂的政党结构而失去了动力”。

“牛津经济研究院”与“风控咨询”表示,即使确保相同的政治、经济主导地位的制度正在发生变化,强势的政党人物也不太可能停止施加影响。他说,经济产业部门应以不强求平等的方式、在政治兴趣和考虑的前提下开放自己。(Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Angola and Mozambique pose a high risk for investors

30 September 2019

Angola and Mozambique are among the highest-risk African countries, albeit with an upward trend in returns for investors, according to the Risk-Return Index 2019, a study by consulting firms Oxford Economics and Control Risks.

In the study, Angola’s risk score is 6.16, an improvement of 0.13 points, but almost double that of highest ranked Mauritius and Botswana, while Mozambique scores 6.07, also an improvement over the 2018 edition (by 0.11 points).

Mozambique also scores better than Angola on return – 3.72 compared to 3.18 – although developments are less favourable than Angola’s (0.24 vs. 0.69).

In terms of improvement of return, Angola’s is only surpassed by that of Zimbabwe.

Angola is one of the highlights of the study, and its improvement is attributed to the “ambitious reform agenda pursued by President João Lourenço,” since coming to power two years ago, although the country’s situation is assessed with some reservations, recalling that risk and return levels are respectively higher and lower than the African averages.

“A number of budgetary, monetary and regulatory reforms have been accompanied by more significant structural changes that have challenged vested interests and introduced a degree of oversight in economic governance,” the study said.

This process has mainly involved interests linked to the former president, José Eduardo dos Santos, his family and political allies.

“Two years of reform efforts have had an impact, but they have also highlighted the intractable nature of many of Angola’s challenges. Currency shortages persist, the economy continues to rely excessively on oil and we expect 2019 to be the fourth consecutive year of recession,” the analysts said.

As in Ethiopia, they noted, “the grand plans and popularity of reformist leaders have lost momentum as they have come across complex party structures.”

Powerful party figures are unlikely to cease to exert their influence, even while the systems that have secured that same political and economic dominance are undergoing change, according to Oxford Economics and Control Risks, who said that sectors of the economy should be opened up, in an unequal way, based on political interests and considerations.  (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH