安哥拉和莫桑比克:短期挑战不少的两个经济体

2018年05月14日

根据德国“贝塔斯曼基金会”最新发布的“转型指数2018”(Bertelsmann Foundation Transformation Index, BTI 2018),两国最大的非洲葡语经济体——安哥拉和莫桑比克——均面临很高的短期经济和政治挑战。

安哥拉在“经济转型”一项得3.68分,是“BTI 2018”评分(最低1分、最高10分)中最低的一环,在129个受评国中排第108位;“政治转型”则取得3.94分,排第105位。

“BTI 2018”报告指出,在目前经济和财政危机的背景下,执政党“安哥拉人民解放运动”(2002年安国独立以来执政至今)必须“抓住新总统洛伦索上任的机遇”,引入打击贪腐机制、加强政治对话和透明度。

报告指出,“和平”过渡到新政府后,须切实推行全面改革计划,“以减少公共资源浪费、低效和贪污”,所有这些将容许“政府信守进行经济多元发展的诺言”。摆脱高度依赖石油收益,以及把石油收益投向各种社会开支,以减轻社会张力,对国家发展非常重要。

对安哥拉而言,为实现多元经济而腾出资源,十分重要,但莫桑比克的挑战,则是
经历了2016年“政府隐瞒违规担保国企20亿美元外债”事件后,如何恢复外国对该国的信任。事件曝光后,西方冻结对莫经济援助,导致经济和财政出现危机,公共债务攀升至相当于GDP的120%。

“BTI 2018”报告认为,政府须“寻求国际援助,重组公债,同时建立透明的问责机制”。

报告说,要恢复外国经援伙伴的信任,就须采纳“国际货币基金组织”(IMF)关于负责官员须问责的建议。

“BTI 2018”报告突出的另一项挑战,是刺激投资者的信心,以及提升经济的吸引力,包括要求“减低设立和营运企业的繁文缛节,同时寻求‘打造理想投资环境’和‘能产生公共收益’两者之间的平衡”。

上述文件还指出莫国目前面对的其他经济挑战,例如减低通胀率、采取政策促进农业生产,以及减低贫穷等。

莫桑比克在“BTI 2018”评分中得4.31分,在129个受评国中排第95位(高于安哥拉),其中,“政治转型”排位最好(第83位),经济转型则最差(第101位)。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Angola and Mozambique, two African economies with many short-term challenges

14 May 2018

Angola and Mozambique, the two largest Portuguese-speaking African economies, are facing high short-term economic and political challenges, according to the Bertelsmann Foundation Transformation Index (BTI 2018).

Economic transformation is the aspect in which Angola has a lower rating in BTI 2018 (3.68 points on a scale of 1 to 10, ranking the country in 108th place out of 129), but was better classified in terms of political transformation and the governance index in which the country is in 105th place, with 3.94 points.

BTI 2018 said that in the current context of economic and financial crisis, the ruling MPLA party, which has led the country since independence, must “seize the opportunity created by the appointment of João Lourenço,” to President of the Republic to strengthen political dialogue and transparency, as well as introducing measures against corruption.

A “peaceful” transition to the new leadership may require a serious commitment to a comprehensive reform programme, in order to reduce waste of public resources, inefficiency, and corruption.

All this would allow “the government to keep its promises of diversification of the economy,” it being “crucial that it moves away from dependence on oil revenues and reinvest revenues in the social sector to mitigate growing social tensions,” said BTI 2018.

In Angola’s case freeing up resources for economic diversification is crucial, but Mozambique’s challenge is to restore external trust, shaken by the US$2 billion “illegal debt” case, whose discovery led to the suspension of aid by Western partners in 2016, worsening the economic and financial situation, with public debt close to 120% of Gross Domestic Product (GDP).

BTI 2018 argues that the government will have to “seek international assistance to restructure public debt while establishing transparent accountability mechanisms.”

The recovery of donor trust, he says, requires the adoption of International Monetary Fund recommendations on the case, which involve the accountability of the government officials who led the process.

Another challenge highlighted by BTI 2018 is stimulation of investor confidence and the attractiveness of the economy, which requires “a reduction of bureaucratic requirements for setting up and running businesses, while at the same time finding a balance between promoting a favourable environment for investment and generation of public revenues.

The document, along with considering that Mozambique needs to diversify the economy, said there are other economic challenges, such as reducing the rate of inflation and adopting policies that foster agricultural production and reduce poverty.

Mozambique has ranked 10 places ahead of Angola in 95th place in BTI 2018, with 4.31 points on a scale of 1 to 10, with political transformation being the strongest indicator (83rd overall) and economic transformation the weakest (101st). (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH