中国参与莫桑比克天然气开发

2017年06月12日

随着莫桑比克两大天然气项目中的首个启动,莫桑比克可望跃居世界主要能源生产大国之一,亚洲(特别是中国)将是它最大的市场。莫总统纽西出席了启动式。

6月初启动的“南珊瑚”天然气田开采项目,一共获得来自15家银行共48亿美元的融资,其中3家是莫国国内银行,其余均为外资银行,包括中国和南韩的进出口银行、意大利和法国的进出口信用保险公司等。

意大利埃尼集团(ENI)持有项目的50%权益,中国石油天然气集团公司(“中石油”)是第二大股东,占股20%,其余韩国天然气、葡萄牙高浦能源和莫桑比克国营石油公司各占10%。目前,美国埃克森美孚正与上述财团洽商入股事宜。

启动式还进行了所有相关合约(包括有关建设和放置生产平台的合约),以及与监管架构和项目融资有关的文件之签署仪式。ENI首席执行官Claudio Descalzi和中石油董事长王宜林均出席了仪式。

“南珊瑚”项目是鲁尔玛盆地4号区块首个开发的项目,估计蕴藏量达4,500亿立方米(16万亿立方英尺),安照合约,所采得且经液化的天然气已售予英国BP集团。

预期同样在莫桑比克进行天然气开采、由美国Anadarko石油集团牵头的另一财团将于明年投产。

《经济学人》智库(EIU)在最新一期有关莫桑比克的报告中指出,莫国的天然气产业“具潜力成为经济增长的火车头之一”,这点最早可在2018年得到反映。

然而,EIU称,由于“项目在技术和监管架构上的复杂性”,预期燃气产量只会到2021年之后才达到“有意义”的水平。

据EIU称,莫政府就上述项目努力接触亚洲国家,“尤其是莫国的大债主中国”,还有诸如印度、日本、泰国等主要燃气、煤炭进口国。这些国家都有能源企业在莫国“投入巨资”。

根据《非洲观察》通讯最近的报道,因财团出售股份予埃克森美孚所得收益(约3.5亿美元)而产生的税金,对莫政府而言也非常重要。

由于传统经援伙伴减少援助,加上经济增长缓慢,目前莫国财政紧绌的情况加剧,来自ENI出售部分权益带来的税金仍可舒缓财政困境——尽管不能完全解决问题。 (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Chinese participates in the development of Mozambique’s natural gas industry

The first of the two major natural gas projects will make Mozambique a major energy producer in the world, with Asia and especially China being the main market for the product.

Launched in early June, the Coral Sul natural gas exploration project will have US$4.8 billion in funding from 15 banks, three of which from Mozambique and the remainder foreign banks, with the coverage of five export credit agencies, including the Export and Import Banks of China and South Korea, Servizi Assicurativi del Commercio Estero (SACE SpA), Italy, and Compagnie Française d’Assurance pour le Commerce Extérieur (Coface), according to the most recent edition of Mozambican weekly newspaper Savana.

Italian group ENI holds a 50% stake in this project, China National Petroleum Company is the second largest shareholder, with 20% and Kogas (South Korea), Galp Energia (Portugal) and Empresa Nacional de Hidrocarbonetos (Mozambique) have 10% each, with the entry into the consortium of US group ExxonMobil now being finalized.

In addition to the formal launch of the project, all the contracts have been signed, namely those for construction and placement of the production platform and the documents relating to the regulatory framework and financing of the project, during a ceremony attended by the President of the Republic, Filipe Nyusi.

The chief executives of ENI, Claudio Descalzi and the China National Petroleum Corporation (CNPC), Wang Yilin also attended the ceremony.

The Coral Sul project is the first to be developed in the Rovuma Area 4 Block, which contains reserves estimated at 450 billion cubic meters (16 trillion cubic feet), and the gas to be extracted and liquefied has already been sold to the BP group.

The investment decision of the other consortium involved in the development of the natural gas industry in Mozambique, led by US group Anadarko Petroleum is expected next year.

The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) recently stated that the natural gas industry has “the potential to be a major engine of economic growth” for Mozambique and should begin to be reflected in this indicator as early as 2018.

However, natural gas production at “significant” levels is expected to occur only after 2021, given the “technical and regulatory complexity of the projects,” the EIU said in its latest report on Mozambique.

These projects, according to the EIU, are behind the government’s effort to approach Asian countries, “in particular China, a large creditor of Mozambique,” as well as gas and coal importing countries such as India, Japan and Thailand, which have companies that are “investing heavily” in the country.

The Africa Monitor newsletter recently reported that revenues from sales of consortium stakes – the first of which worth about US$350 million from the Exxon Mobil group – are also particularly important to the government.

Given the current financial shortcomings, which have been widening due to declines in traditional partners’ aid and a slowing the economy, revenues such as the sale of part of the ENI group’s share, alleviate the situation, although they do not solve it completely, according to the EIU. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH