国际援助支持安哥拉经济复苏

2017年11月13日

安哥拉正接受来自国际货币基金组织(IMF)的支援,好让该国银行体系与国际货币市场规范趋同。研究人员认为,这有助达成更广泛的援助协议。

由新任总统João Lourenço领导的安国新政府就任不久,财长Archer Mangueira最近接受媒体访问时确认,政府正就IMF一份计划进行评估,暂未决定是否纳入融资计划。

是次评估的旨在支持宏观经济的改善、预算作业的巩固、货币和汇率的调整,以及投资的促进。

相关的谈判尚在初始阶段,根据《经济学人》智库(EIU)最新(10月份)有关安哥拉的报告,“IMF通过正式的计划,作更深度的参与,对安国有好处”;又预测,若签订有关援助的协议,将反映安国更有可能开展经济改革。

EIU的报告称,上述协议之签订,反映当局愿意“采取更严苛的改革、更透彻的透明度”。

2016年4月,政府正式向IMF提出援助要求,但三个月之后放弃就“扩展基金设施”(EFF,援助额可达45亿美元,为期三年)继续洽谈。

IMF于数周前宣布将支持安哥拉国家银行(“安央行”),参照“应有标准和国际最佳实践”进行调整。IMF赴安哥拉考察团团长Ricardo Velloso上周访安时,围绕安国过去(导致2016年国际经援伙伴中止合作的)不合规行为,与安国有关官员进行“第四条磋商”。前次中止合作,切断了银行界的美元来源,加剧了安国的货币危机。

根据《非洲监察情报》通讯最近的报告,在目前经济困难的背景下,采取措施强化安国对外来投资的吸引力、改善其对外形象,应属首务,特别是在金融领域。

根据上述消息来源,IMF对安国收支平衡的支持,被认为重要,预期安国货币宽扎的贬值,是未来的协议中主要内容之一。若当局对外汇市场不加干预(到2017年底或2018年一季度前贬值30%),IMF将不会支持安国的计划。

由于安央行向商业银行售出外汇,安国的国际储备余额最近跌至历史新低。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

International aid supports recovery of the Angolan economy

13 November 2017

Angola is receiving support from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to normalise access by its banks to international money markets, a first step, according to analysts, towards a more comprehensive assistance agreement.

The Angolan Minister of Finance, Archer Mangueira, confirmed in a recent interview that the government was assessing a new IMF programme, adding that it had yet to be decided if it would include financing.

The aim, according to the minister of the new government of João Lourenço, is to support macro-economic improvement, budgetary consolidation, monetary and exchange rate adjustment and the promotion of investments.

With the negotiations in an initial phase, the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) said that “a deeper involvement (of the IMF) through a formal programme would be positive for the country,” and that its forecasts for the Angolan economy will reflect a greater likelihood of reform, if there is an agreement for assistance, with or without funding.

The issue, it said, is the willingness of the authorities to “adopt the harsh reforms – and transparency,” that would result from an agreement, said the EIU in its October report on Angola.

In April 2016 the government made  a formal request for assistance from the IMF, but three months later abandoned the negotiations for an extended fund facility (EFF), a three-year programme which would allow access to a maximum of US$4.5 billion.

The head of the IMF mission to Angola, Ricardo Velloso, was in Angola last week for consultations under Article 4, a few weeks after the IMF announced it would support Angolan National Bank (BNA) in adjusting to “the standards and international best practices,” non-compliance with which led to the end of relations with correspondent banks, in 2016, accentuating the currency crisis, by cutting the banking sector’s access to the purchase of US dollars.

The Africa Monitor Intelligence newsletter reported recently that, with the current economic difficulties, measures to enhance the attractiveness of the country for foreign investment and improvement of its external image are considered a priority, especially in financial circles.

According to the same source, IMF aid to the balance of payments is considered crucial and, among the main measures expected in a future agreement, is the devaluation of the Kwanza, and the IMF will not support the government’s programme without an intervention in the foreign exchange market (30% depreciation by the end of 2017 or the first quarter of 2018).

International reserves recently reached historic lows, due to the sale of foreign currency to commercial banks by the Angolan central bank. (macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH