莫桑比克银行成功渡过经济逆境

2017年08月07日

《经济学人》智库(EIU)的分析师称,经历了艰难的2016年,然后经历急速增长的阶段,尽管莫桑比克银行(“莫央行”)两次干预市场,莫国银行体系仍显示相当的弹性。

去年,由于国际货币基金组织(IMF)等国际经援伙伴因莫政府隐瞒替问题国企的外债(总金额达12亿美元)作担保,而冻结对莫援助,导致莫国经历了经济及财政困难。

由国营莫桑比克金枪鱼公司(Ematum)的8.5亿美元贷款被广泛报道。该公司向法国北部Cherbourg船厂订购一批渔船和海岸巡逻艇,相关合约由当时的法国总统奥朗德和莫国总统格布扎签署。

EIU在其最新有关莫桑比克的报告中称,银行业面对的财政危机影响了两家银行——Nosso银行和Moza银行——的健康,莫桑比克银行(“莫央行”)被逼介入。尽管恶化的局面并未完全过去,银行业表现出自己具足够弹性。

EIU的报告说,尽管银行业界普遍面对金融危机的风险,央行仍将在很大程度上保持独立,预料主要银行将有能力抵御压力,而较小规模的银行不至于形成系统性威胁。

自2016年流动性危机以来,莫桑比克宏观经济基础已有改善,而莫央行也已开始采行弹性货币政策。但EIU仍然认为,“困扰银行业的压力还远未消解”,特别是由于呆坏账,以及某些银行存在隐形债务。

随着莫央行决定上调资本要求,EIU预期国内一些规模较小的银行将会在未来数月倒闭,尽管三家最大的银行(合共占全国存款和资产过半)有条件透过“有需要时向其外银主求援,注入资金”而熬过困境。

至于莫央行为Moza银行设计的解决方案——透过监管当局自有的养老金补足银行的资本,将两家主要股东(葡萄牙Novo银行和“莫桑比克资本”)冲淡至各10%。EIU认为这是可取的解决方案。(macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH

Mozambique’s Banks Resisting Economic Adversities Quite Well

7 August 2017

Even after two central bank interventions, the Mozambican banking sector has shown itself to be quite flexible at a time when the country’s economy is undergoing a process of accelerated growth following the very difficult year of 2016, analysts indicate.

Mozambique was affected by economic and financial difficulties last year due to the suspension of assistance from the International Monetary Fund and major donors. That occurred after the government recognised that two public enterprises had contracted loans worth US$1.2 billion with state endorsement though in breach of current legal provisions.

The US$850 million loan contracted by the Mozambican state-owned tuna company Ematum was widely publicised in due time. A contract for acquisition of fishing and coastal patrol boats was even signed in Cherbourg, France, at a ceremony attended by the presidents of Mozambique and France, respectively Armando Guebuza and François Hollande.

In banking, the financial crisis affected the health of two banks, Nosso Banco and Moza Banco, forcing intervention by the regulator, Banco de Moçambique (BdM). Although the worsening scenario is still not entirely out of the picture, the sector has shown itself to be sufficiently flexible, reports the Economist Intelligence Unit.

“The central bank will remain largely independent” and, despite the “risk of a crisis throughout the sector”, the “forecast is that the major banks will be able to resist pressures and that the smaller banks do not represent a systemic threat”, indicates the EIU in its latest report on Mozambique.

The macroeconomic foundations of Mozambique have improved since the 2016 liquidity crisis and BdM has begun imposing a flexible monetary policy. The EIU nevertheless asserts that the “pressures that plagued the banking sector are far from over”, especially due to nonperforming loans and some banks’ exposure to the public sector, namely to ‘hidden’ loans.

Following BdM’s decision to increase capital requirements, the EIU expects some of the country’s smaller banks to close in coming months, though the three biggest banks, which together hold more than half of total deposits and assets, have conditions to resist adversities, namely via “recourse to their foreign owners for additional financing, if necessary”.

Particularly regarding the solution found by BdM for Moza Banco (its capitalisation via the regulator’s own pension fund (Kuhanha), which diluted the stake of the two main shareholders, Novo Banco (Portugal) and Moçambique Capitais, to 10 percent each), the EIU considers it a justifiable solution. (Macauhub)

MACAUHUB FRENCH